Homemade Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I agree about the water issue. Don't add any water at all and this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Petrolia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This sauce is excellent - reduced the water by 1/2 and increased tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe was horrible i'm glad that i was smart enough to not add all the water. But i'm thankful my children had nothing to complain about, they will eat anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This is a very watery Spaghetti Sauce recipe. I also prefer my sauce a little sweeter. I don't think I'll make this one again, unless I make some adjustments to the recipe listed.. Wish someone would correct/change the amount of water for this recipe for the sake of others making this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Amazing...I only tweeked a little to make it spicer and I did add fresh oregano. Great recipe!!! I used San Marzano Tomatoes (D.O.P. certified)....made the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I must say this is an excellent recipe. I added ground pork and ground beef to the sauce and I found it a bit too watery, so I will likely only use 4 cups of water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This is a really good recipe. I used 1 1/4 cup of water instead of 7, because it's a ridiculous amount. Also I added 1/2 cup of Prego Roast garlic and herbs, cumin, oregano and a tbs of butter. I skipped the wine because I didn't had any and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanafts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bayamon, Bayamon, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Very Good. I added a small green pepper and 1/2 lb of ground turkey and 1/2 lb of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I tweaked because I used what I had on hand. WONDERFUL SAUCE!! My husband and I both agreed it was our favorite: 1 chopped onion cooked til transparent, 4-5 cloved garlic chopped, 2-15 oz. cans petit diced tomatoes with garlic and olive oil added, 1-15 oz. can tomato sauce, 1 Tblsp. olive oil, 1 1/2 Tblsp. sugar, 1 tsp. salt, 1 tsp. course black pepper, 3 heaping Tblsp. Italian seasoning, 2 heaping Tblsp. basil. I had NO red pepper and NO wine, and I added NO water. That's what I had on hand and it was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe needed some tweaking in my opinion. First, the onion to seasoning ratio is alright but the garlic and sugar is off and there isn't enough sugar. I followed this recipe and as most people found, it is hard to find tomatoes in a paste form already. I changed it as follows: 1. lg can of crushed Contadina Tomatoes 1. Lg can of diced Contadina Tomatoes 2. 12 oz cans of Contadina tom. Paste 1. 6 oz can of Contadina paste w/garlic (makes up for the lack of enough garlic in the orig recipe) 2. 1/4-1/3 cup of sugar.. I added to taste. I like my sauce sweeter 1. 1 tsp of salt For the red wine, I suggest a sweet red. I used one called Campagna Di Romani but any sweet wine will do. The wine gave it some sweet to counteract the acid from the tomato. After the changes, the sauce seems much better and has a lot more flavor to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Sauce II

See how to make a thick, rich tomato sauce that’s just a bit spicy.

Splendicious Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A slow-simmering sauce with sausage, mushrooms, and red wine.

Meat-Lover's Slow Cooker Spaghetti Sauce

A wonderful, robust spaghetti sauce with Italian sausage and ground beef, prepare

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States