Homemade Sour Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good recipe, I didn't feel comfortable leaving a jar of cream and milk out even though the vinegar was probably enough to kill bacteria, I cheated I mixed it up with my kitchen aid until it looked like sour cream, and turned out tasting great plus I added a pinch of salt. Thank you for the recipe. 5 stars all the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kiltcochran

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Worked great! I was a little worried about leaving the ingredients unrefrigerated but it all worked out fine! This is a little runny compared to store bought, but you at least know what is being used to make it! Great for baked potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Fabulous ! Made it numerous times now. Thanks for posting this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I sized the recipe for 4 servings. I but it in a medium container and whipped it up with my motor boat. Its like when you do it for whipping cream. I labeled it. I like to know what goes into the sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Priscilla Blais

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I have tried making this twice and I have had not luck! The first time it did not harden up. The second time it just tasted like cream, not sour cream. I really want this to work. I have followed the recipe, any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Thank you for adding this. For whatever reason, I can't get sour cream in Panama. My husband loves sour cream and I found this recipe. It works great and he loves it! He has bragged and bragged on me for making sour cream for him! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I had a quart of cream that I wanted to use, so I 4x the recipe. It has been 28 hours, and it is still cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This works like a charm- very thick and rich! Sterilize your Mason jar. I used buttermilk and a good quality heavy (high butterfat) cream. Secure the lid and canning ring, shake, and let sit on the counter for 24 hours, undisturbed! We can now taste the difference between home made and store bought, and will be using this recipe from here on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly but had something very runny that did not look or smell or taste at all like sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Great recipe! Super easy. I used the buttermilk version & it worked like a charm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joycazel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cooking with Sour Cream

See why sour cream makes almost everything taste better.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States