Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Fugate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Awesome! Better than anything you will find in a can. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Easy and everyone lived them. I will try a little less brown sugar and bit more onion next time. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gremolata
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I love this recipe. I scale it to use 1 lb. of ground beef, and cut the brown sugar to just about a teaspoon. I also like my joes pretty sloppy, so I cook the mixture, partially covered, for about 30 minutes instead of the full cook time. I served these on Pumpkin Sandwich Rolls with jack-o'-lantern faces for a great Halloween-themed dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gremolata

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Boy does this recipe bring back memories! I haven't had sloppy joes since I was a kid. Definitely a "retro" kinda meal that dare I say...tastes better than my Mom's! This was so easy and so good - perfect for Sunday football. I doubled the recipe using 96/4 ground beef, one red pepper and one green pepper, half ketchup and half Bennetts Original Chili Sauce along with a generous splash of white wine vinegar, and brown sugar to taste along with the rest of the ingredients. I highly recommend watching Chef John's video. It's only a few minutes long and was very helpful. You really do need to add the water and let it simmer down for at least 30 minutes - and don't be afraid to add the cayenne it really does make a difference but doesn't make it "hot". All I did was keep it warm in a crock pot during the game. I served these on slider rolls with chips and pickles to rave reveiws. Thanks Chef John for another awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I was very pleased with the recipe, except for the sweetness. Next time I will use half the brown sugar. It was an easy recipe and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I found this recipe a bit too sweet and I only added about 1 tsp of sugar (the ketchup seems to have enough sugar). In an attempt to improve the flavor, I added more worcestershire sauce and some paprika. Still, I loved the way that the sauce thickened up which made it the perfect consistency for a hand-held sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I traded the beef for beefless meat and it came out really good. I read some reviews saying it was a bit too sweet, so I cut back on the brown sugar by quite a bit. The recipe is straightforward so it was easy. I followed the recipe very loosely adjusting for my taste. All in all, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Far far too sweet. I had to really work to rescue this one. Next time I'm leaving out 75% of the sugar since there is more than enough in the ketchup to start with. I'm also going to add a couple pinches of Crushed Red Pepper for just a hint of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
My husband is a picky eater! He certainly loved this sloppy Joe! I've made this twice in one week! Awesome!!!! I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce so I used soy sauce and sea salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States