Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2015
I really don't understand the reasoning behind all the water. It can slow simmer with the lid on the pan and accumulate plenty of moisture but I followed the instructions anyway. No lid, just simmered it until it was thick. I think I used a little too much cayenne. All in all, my husband loved it. I really eyeballed the ingredients. I think I used a little too much sugar so I toned it down with vinegar. I guess I was surprised to hear my husband say how much he really liked it. I have a couple other recipes from this site that I like just as much but this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Not bad but too wet and not enough kick. I added 1 can of RoTel, 1 can of diced tomatoes, no water at all, 1 small can of Penn. Dutch mushrooms and 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes instead of cayenne and simmered for 2 hrs so all flavors could be tasted. I also upped the Worcestershire and Dijon, but a great starter recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Hartog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
We made this with ground chicken and jalapeños. It was yummy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurel Greene

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Im only 13 and i made it great and it was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Mills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
This was really great. I made this one as written and was very pleased at the outcome. It does bring back memories of Mom's Sloppy Joe's. Thanks for another great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
My husband is on a low cholesterol diet so made with ground turkey. I also added a little jalapeño and a dash of A1 sauce. Made into sloppy pies using Grands bisquits. Super yummy!!! Mahalo for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haiku, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Makawao, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
These are great. We added extra ketchup and mustard. Added some sriracha for a little kick at the end. Easy recipe to adjust to your tastes! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I left out the green pepper and ceyanne and my kids loved these! I will never use a store bought mix again.....ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight. It was very sweet. If you like it like that,fine but we do not. So I added a lot of vinegar to counteract the sweetness and we really like it then. I will not buy another sloppy joe mix or manwich. This will be my new recipe using less sugar in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlee80817

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This recipe is awesome! Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Fugate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States