Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I traded the beef for beefless meat and it came out really good. I read some reviews saying it was a bit too sweet, so I cut back on the brown sugar by quite a bit. The recipe is straightforward so it was easy. I followed the recipe very loosely adjusting for my taste. All in all, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Far far too sweet. I had to really work to rescue this one. Next time I'm leaving out 75% of the sugar since there is more than enough in the ketchup to start with. I'm also going to add a couple pinches of Crushed Red Pepper for just a hint of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
My husband is a picky eater! He certainly loved this sloppy Joe! I've made this twice in one week! Awesome!!!! I didn't have any Worcestershire sauce so I used soy sauce and sea salt instead of regular salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Wow so easy and so good. My kids destroyed this so fast...Definitely will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
My husband never likes my sloppy joes. We had his family over and I agreed to make sloppy joes. I panicked knowing mine were not up to par so I typed into my iPad and picked this recipe. As everyone was ranting and raving about the sloppy joes my husband leaned over and said these are the best sloppy joes you have ever made. My I have another one? We have been married for 43 years and I finally found the. Best sloppy joe recipe. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I wonder why in the world would you add water to a recipe like this. Beef stock, chicken stock, even leftover vegetable cooking water. I always have to alter recipes anyway to fit my low carb (diabetic) diet so blandness is not in my repertoire. I usually add twice as much seasoning (garlic, worcestershire, mustard, etc.) as I did here. I also used half homemade sausage for the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
My family was VERY happy with this. I followed the recipe but didn't have enough kethup so I added 8oz tomato sauce. There was a little more brown sugar than I'd like because more fell out of the bag than I was expecting but the family didn't mind at all. I actually had to note that with manwich there's always some left with 2 darn buns left. All buns and Joe were gone :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I made this into a sloppy joe pizza! Followed the recipe almost exactly (didn't have peppers in the house and I added a bit of red pepper flakes), made a homemade pizza dough and used the sloppy joe mix as the sauce and covered with sharp cheddar. Delicious and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Not much depth of flavor. If I try again, I will add my homemade 'kitchen bouquet'. It might help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I used Vegetarian Ground Soy and followed the rest of the recipe "as is" and the whole family LOVED it! We won't be using the packaged stuff or canned stuff ever again. Very yummy indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States