Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
It was good didn't measure anything added more vinager used regular mustard and siracha instead of Cheyenne also I used beer instead of water just because I was in that mood and it was great thanks awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe is absolutely amazing. It's the perfect balance of sweet and savory, and a great way to sneak green peppers and onions in my toddler's food. I used this as a filling for biscuits and baked at 350 for 12-14 minutes. Delicious! Such a perfect, quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe was delicious:) Instead of two cups of water, I added tomato paste to one of the cups of water. I also splashed it up with cider vinegar and added a teaspoon of cayenne:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
Hello! First of all, allow me to explain a few things. I'm twenty-one, I work part time and I attend college full time. I'm involved in multiple clubs and societies at school, and I happen to be engaged. I hope to give you context when I say that I am not always bountiful in time. I love this recipe, I make it every month or so for my fiance, my roommate and me. It feeds us for approximately 4-5 days of heavy eating, they're two guys and well.. you know how they eat. Now, I don't follow the recipe exactly but I do use its basic bones: - I mix a pound of lean ground beef with a pound of lean ground turkey. - I add a can and a half of Bush's Original Baked Beans (my father used to add beans to sloppy joes) - I add a whole onion, a whole green bell pepper, and a whole red bell pepper. - I also add sriracha and some red pepper flakes. This being said, I let it simmer for roughly an hour. It's brilliant and perfect consistency, definitely flavourful and not the worst thing you can put in your mouth. Also, really nice for a couple of low-budget college couple and their silly roommate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
These are so good. I followed the recipe to a T. Don't hurry this one. Prep is easy but have patience on the simmering,.. simmering... simmering. Joe's were not overly sweet like the canned stuff. I think it is very, very important to use very lean meat. I used 93/7 hamburger. No crease on the bottom of the bun - very important for taste and presentation. Served with Tater Tots and Cole Slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
To sweet, added a few tablespoons of white vinager to counteract the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is a delicious homemade recipe for an All-American favorite... I didn't really measure (shame on me...) but used each of the ingredients here, including the cayenne. It came out like a sweet hot mixture and we loved it. Lots of sugar between the ketchup and brown sugar, however. I only added water the first time cooked it down real good and then while that was cooking down, I made my sloppy mix and kept taste testing for a good 45mins, adding this and that. Mixed it into the meat in the skillet and let it all cook down more, for 30mins. Very yummy with the cayenne... We like a good kick to our dishes. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RckyMtnGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA
Living In: New Castle, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
He loved it more than his momma's! Way to go me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Tried recipe today. Had to leave out bell pepper, but added celery. Thought it would never cook off the liquid, but to my surprise it did cook down & turned out delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Made this tonight and all I can say is .....YUMMY FOR THE TUMMY!!! Thank you so much for the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyrose
Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Cabot, Arkansas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States