Homemade Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Very good, will definitely make this again. The only suggestion I have is to use less brown sugar if using red bell peppers in place of green ones. Otherwise was quick and easy to through together and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
This recipe is delicious.no need in be going back to the canned stuff!I did mine a little different. I browned and seasoned the meat with seasoned salt, diced onion, garlic powder and black pepper. I halved the meat and doubled the sauce and only used 1/2 cup of water. Mixed and the sauce and COVERED and let it simmer for about 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. My boyfriend HATES sloppy Joe's (canned) but even he ate these and liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Awesome! the crowd at church loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 123itisme

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
A recipe to please the whole family! The kids have requested this over and over. The first time I made it, I didn't change a thing and it was delicious but just a little too sweet for me. The second time, I added a little more Worcestershire and dijon. Now I always make it that way, but that's really just a matter of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I love his recipe and so does my family! I added more of almost everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was a GREAT from scratch recipe. It was an instant winner in my house; I'll definitely be serving this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michele McCormick
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I really like this! I used butterball ground turkey and it was perfect, I like a thicker sauce so I added a little less of each wet ingredient. My family ate this up! Will add to the menu for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I tried this recipe for lunch today. Yes it is sweet. In future I may cut back on the sugar. Not totally sure though as my husband and children prefer sweet. I did make some changes. I did not have time to mince the peppers so skipped them. Otherwise my husband would not have eaten. He is allergic to onions so those were left out as well. I used precooked beef already seasoned. I also used powdered garlic instead of fresh for the time factor. In future I will use fresh as I prefer fresh garlic. I almost forgot to add I used bolillos instead of hamburger buns. As they are a bit chewier I chose to scoop out the center to help the meat stay put. Then I thought to cut short the simmering time and add the scooped out bread to thicken it. This way I did not waste the bread. Whether I do this again depends on the bread I use. If I use regular hamburger buns I will not. If I use chewy bread or rolls than I think I will as I like the way it turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
We loved this recipe! I actually served it over baked potatoes. There was no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Spectacular! Very tasty indeed. Will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acadianbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Neat Sloppy Joes

These kid-pleasers are tasty--and really aren't all that sloppy!

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States