Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
this is good. I wouldn't say great. it was good for a substitute for shake and bake Kraft. I followed the instructions for past shake and bakes. I use milk or buttermilk as the "glue". the breading sticks to the meat better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
this is an awesome way to save some money, and control what goes into your food.. want more basil, add it, want less salt, take some out! We loved it, I will never buy the boxed stuff again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Centerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
I prepare it without the oil and substitute it for breadcrumb coating on various chicken dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris Flynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
My daughter loves when I use this. I added some lemon pepper. I omitted the salt and I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I freeze the leftover mixture for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
I have a confession...I Love this recipe!! I have a box of store-bought "coating mix" in my cabinet (that someone else bought). I threw the packs away and kept the bags for shaking THIS recipe on my chicken legs. I have used this recipe several times and my very picky girls ask for "crunchy chicken legs" every week now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I followed the recipe as written except cut back on the salt from 1 tablespoon to 1/2 teaspoon. After everything was mixed together I tasted it before I coated my chicken and still it was like eating a mouthful of salt. It may be palatable if you cut out all the salt including the garlic salt & celery salt, but I threw the whole batch out rather than ruining my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I liked this, but I can't get my breadcrumbs crispy. I tried it on pork chops, and maybe that's my problem. Must try again on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Mc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chantilly, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I thought it was very good. I didn't add the TBS of salt and substituted onion powder and garlic powder for the minced. I also left out the oil and it was really good. Thanks. I will not buy shakenbake anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Gallant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
We made this last night on drumsticks and they came out so good we're making it again tonight with thighs. Only things we changed were we used PANKO bread crumbs instead of regular, garlic powder in place of garlic salt, celery seed in place of celery salt, and a bit more kosher salt to make up the difference. Also added a couple dashes of cayenne for a teeny kick. The panko is so much more crispy and delicious and doesn't get sticky or soggy at all, try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States