Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My son, who is not a big chicken eater, is giving you 5 stars on this one. My only caution is I ended up throwing a lot of this away both times I made it because of excess. The last time I cut the servings down to 4 and it was still too much for 4 large chicken breasts. I'm cutting it down to 2 next time. Easy problem to fix! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QB's mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
This was excellent! I didn't use the celery salt and garlic salt (just use powders instead) so I needed more salt. Tasty though! I mixed 1/2 cup squash puree with an egg to coat the chicken then dipped in the shake and bake! Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Peters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
A little too salty, but was still very good. I will cut back on the salt next time. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
Used this as the coating for our chicken tenders tonight. Only difference was to substitute garlic powder for the garlic salt. My daughter asked if we were eating "Shake and Bake". Made this with the "cajun spicy potato wedges". We will keep this one in the rotation for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This worked perfectly. I would, however, recommend leaving out the tablespoon of salt. The celery and garlic salts add plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Extremely salty!! I may try it again and omit the salt completely and decrease the pepper. We had to scrape the crust off just to eat it. A waste of a good pork chop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I was concerned when I tried it before baking as it seemed very bland but once baked it was amazing. My husband and children couldn't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I made this with the ingredients I had on hand: onion, garlic powders, season salt and paprika and my family loved it. So easy and good, I will never buy shake n bake again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
excellent...NO need for store bought anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was great! I will add a little less salt next time and I didn't use the oil. I just shaked chicken thighs in the mixture and baked and added some Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States