Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This is amazing. Made enough for 4 meals. I just put the unused portion in the freezer. I take the skin off and lightly coat the chicken with EVOO to get the mix to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is so easy to make and it tastes just like the store bought version. My kids are not big chicken eaters, but eat it when I use this recipe for chicken. I use seasoned salt instead of regular and celery salt, and italian seasoning instead of the basil, parsely and oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Good mix. Makes a very large recipe, so I divided it and stored half for use at a later date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I have made this several times now with the following changes. I omit the plain salt altogether. I also when it comes to the celery salt and garlic salt make them scant on their measurements. I also cut this in half and still have plenty to do 8 to 10 thighs. When I do this for the 2 cups of bread crumbs I put 1/2 C of panko crumbs to give it a bit more crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANNE SHALD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This has completely replaced Shake and Bake in my house! I use it mostly for drumsticks. I do significantly decrease the amounts given as for 5 drumsticks it makes way too much. I sometimes just use whatever spices I feel like adding and I have never added a tablespoon of salt to this or most other recipes so I cannot comment on the saltiness as presented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I used this on a whim on plain chicken breasts. It was easy to make and was delicious. I cut the recipe in half and still had LOTS left over. I could probably cut this into fourths to cook two chicken breasts cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
This was a perfect hit with my husband!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I scaled this recipe down and didn't measure but I know I didn't use the whol amount of salt or celery salt and subbed garlic powder for the salt and dried onion. Also added a little mustard powder. I've never made shake n bake before so I don't know how you're supposed to use it but I dipped chicken strips in egg then the crumb mixture and baked on an ungreased sheet at 400 for 20 minutes withouth flipping. They were crispy and crunchy and perfect for our breaded chicken wraps with ranch, fries and corn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Made this on the fly for the kids' lunch today and it was a big hit! It was simple and quick to prepare and there were no leftovers! Love finding homemade alternatives for their favorites, since it's cost-effective and much healthier with all the gmo issues etc. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Friends and family gave this a thumbs up for flavor. I only had enough shake and bake for half of the chicken so I tossed this together leaving out the minced onion and basil (I was out). The result was equal to the shake and bake flavored chicken. Thanks Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States