Homemade Shake and Bake Mixture Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Love this, allows me to avoid the shame of buying the boxed stuff! Good as written, but I cut the celery salt in half, it overpowers everything otherwise. I also ran out of garlic salt ages ago, so I just double the garlic powder (which I use in place of minced garlic) and keep the salt at the recommended amount. If you do use garlic salt, I'd recommend cutting back on the regular salt. I've started cutting the oil back too, you definitely don't need that much to get it crispy. The full recipe makes a huge batch of the stuff. I cook for two and at this point I think we've established that 1/4 of the recipe is all you need for 1.5-2 lb of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shlemar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Astoria, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I scale this down to four servings. My husband and son loves this! The celery salt is what makes it. I added tons of fresh minced garlic. I use it for boneless pork chops. Bake at 400°F for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Love it and is a big fav for my hubby. We use this on Pork ribs - we sometimes leave out the celery seed and sometimes substitute Jalapeno Olive oil we got from Con Olio's in Austin a while back. My husband does not like pork but LOVES this and prefers it over any store bought panko type breading mixes. I will be honest though, I have never gone by measurements, I just eyeball it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
very good. I made a full batch and separated out about a cup to coat 8 medium sized thin cut pork chops. I put the rest in a plastic baggie and stuck in the freezer for a later use. We loved this and my kids are huge fans of shake and bake so this is perfect for us. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Great recipe! I didn't have celery salt, so I substituted with celery seed. I also didn't have garlic salt, so I substituted with garlic powder. I think this was better because the recipe was not as salty as it may have been otherwise. Also, I changed the recipe settings for 2 servings and was able to get 6 small boneless chops covered. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Shedding pounds anyone??I began a diet program to do just that and made this to substitute my favorite take out chicken,which by the way had msg something I wanted to avoid.This recipe was delicious.I omitted the salt the second time I made it to make it healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I used this recipe as a guideline as my husband loves shake n bake but I can't eat it because I am on a very low sodium diet. I used 2 cups of Panko that I whirled in my food processor to make finer, 3 tbsps canola oil, 1/2 tsp each salt free Cajun seasoning, poultry seasoning, oregano, basil, black pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and parsley. I had 14 thin fast fry pork chops which I baked at 400 for 25 minutes on parchment paper lined baking sheet, turning halfway through. I don't usually comment on the healthiness of a recipe but as written this would have been way too salty, original sodium 1985 mgs new sodium 85 mgs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Tried this tonight and it was great. I cut out all the salt like everyone else. I prepared the recipe with a 2 serving portion and it was more than enough for 6 thick pork loin cutlets and 6 chicken breasts. I'd make this again. Great post thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Complements came freely. That says AWESOME from my 4 picky eaters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
So much better, healthier, and cheaper than the store bought version! We made a half version and omitted the salt (per others' suggestions). We also omitted the minced onion and minced garlic (we were VERY short on time). It was still fantastic even without these ingredients! We plan to make a full version with everything but the oil, salt, minced garlic, and minced onion, to keep on hand. Then we'll just pull out a 1/2 cup at a time and add 2 t. oil when we're ready to use it (and if we have time, a little minced onion and garlic). Thanks for the great homemade version, sal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Shake and Bake Chicken

Spices added to the coating make this chicken extra yummy.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States