Homemade Salami Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Steve
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I followed the recipe. I added a little extra black pepper and red pepper flakes to the mix. After making the rolls , I used course black pepper, spread it out on wax paper and rolled the logs in it before wrapping them in foil. In essence, making peppered salami. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by david
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Made this over the past two days, reduced every ingredient by half except for the garlic powder and onion powder which i kept the same. As you can see it came out perfectly. I couldn't have asked for a simpler quicker way of doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe, so my rating in on my Grandpa's version. A recipe like this has been in my family my whole life. My grandfather was Italian, and this is his family recipe. It is very similar except my recipe calls for 5#s of meat, whole pepper pods, no red pepper. But the biggest difference is that once you mix the meat, you place it in the fridge and you mix it once a day for three days. On the fourth day, you make 5-6 rolls and place it on a broiler pan. Then you bake on 140-150 degrees for 8-10 hours. It is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
THANK YOU for sharing this! I have my aunt's very old recipe for Summer Sausage; same ingredients (except proportioned for five pounds of hamburger) - but it called for saltpeter (an ingredient in gunpowder), which isn't available in the grocery aisle these days. (I'm told you can buy it in the insecticide section of home-improvement stores, though, as potassium nitrate - ugh!) It's nice to know about the curing salt. I've missed this stuff. Aunt Mick used to make large quantities of it every year; her recipes states "Will keep in refrigerator for 2-3 months." Oh, and her instructions also call for mixing all ingredients, refrigerating 24 hours, mixing again and refrigerating 24 hours more; and baking in a "very slow" oven (200 degrees) for 2 hours, then lowering the temp to 150 and baking 6 hours longer. Worked great for her, but I'm not sure you can get an oven that slow nowadays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Wow i made this , it was great.Easy to make. The cure i found at agw. 5 stars ... will make again ....next time i will make with venison/pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Awesome ! BUT I left out the curing salt & DID NOT sub. it with anything. I do not use nitrates & very little salt in the meat I transform. This was delish ! Thanks for posting !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
I followed the recipe subbing curing salt and sugar for the sugar-based curing mix. I will make this again and I will increase everything but the meat. (I have gone online and ordered a sugar-based cure) I will also put the mixture in my mixer, add cold water (to bind it together better) and fennel seed and use whole peppercorns. I want a finer grained mixture. I can hardly wait for my cure to get here to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I think mine didn't turn because of the meat I used. It was very lean ground beef. Turned out more like spicy meatloaf. Not at all like salami. Didn't really have that good of flavor. If I tried it again might add a little sausage and some other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnmater

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rothbury, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bean Station, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
if you can't find tenderquick i found a substitute using prague powder#1 which is easier to find (at asian markets) it took me about an hour of web searching !! added some whole cumin and toasted my spices before adding them (adding the red pepper flakes last so they wouldnt scorch) and i also added a bit of red wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This was excellent and so easy. Definitely more of a summer sausage than salami. I've made it and shared it with 3 other couples, once at a big party, and have had people truly "wowed" that it was homemade. They don't believe me when I tell them how easy it is! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate
Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States