Homemade Salami Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
great basic recipe that can be modified with your choice of spices. we always smoke our sausage in our weber. everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oh! cooking mama!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Angela, I'm so glad you posted this recipe. It was given to me by a very dear friend. Over the years it was missplaced, so I'm happy to find it once again. This recipe is more of a summer sausage than a salami. Your proportions of seasonings to curing salt is perfect. The flavor and texture are wonderul. Most people can't believe you made it yourself. Its quality is as good as any butcher and sausage maker's. Goes soooo good with beer on a hot summer day. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! And so simple! I did increase the onion and garlic powder to 1/2 tsp each. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Wonderful! A great blend of spices to create a very flavorful, moist sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was impressive- really tasted like salami and had similar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellent. Have made it several times for parties and serve with cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was excellent - dry and spicy. The family liked it very much. Excellent with cheese and crackers. I would definitely slice it uniformly with my electric slicer before serving to guests, as the log shape was not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
We enjoyed this very much. Some of my children were surprised that Salami could be made at home. I liked it because I knew exactly what was in it. This taste very good. Great snack with crackers and cheese too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
DO NOT substitute table salt for Curing salt. I did and boy, was it a mistake. Here is my variation of your wonderful recipe after a couple of trials: 1.25 lbs 97% lean ground beef 1.25 lbs lean game meat (I used elk) 2T Curing salt 1/2t garlic powder 1.2t onion powder 1/2t mustard seed 1/2T black pepper dash red pepper flakes 1T liquid smoke my red pepper flakes dominated the meat flavor when I used 1t. I may use more than 1T liquid smoke next time, just based on personal tastes. This doesn't last long around the house, it is sooooo good. I also unwrap the meat after about 10 mins of cooling and let it sit in the turned-off oven to create a drier meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This looked like such an interesting recipe I had to try it. It turned out wonderful. Will for sure make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States