Homemade Salami Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Angela, I'm so glad you posted this recipe. It was given to me by a very dear friend. Over the years it was missplaced, so I'm happy to find it once again. This recipe is more of a summer sausage than a salami. Your proportions of seasonings to curing salt is perfect. The flavor and texture are wonderul. Most people can't believe you made it yourself. Its quality is as good as any butcher and sausage maker's. Goes soooo good with beer on a hot summer day. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
DO NOT substitute table salt for Curing salt. I did and boy, was it a mistake. Here is my variation of your wonderful recipe after a couple of trials: 1.25 lbs 97% lean ground beef 1.25 lbs lean game meat (I used elk) 2T Curing salt 1/2t garlic powder 1.2t onion powder 1/2t mustard seed 1/2T black pepper dash red pepper flakes 1T liquid smoke my red pepper flakes dominated the meat flavor when I used 1t. I may use more than 1T liquid smoke next time, just based on personal tastes. This doesn't last long around the house, it is sooooo good. I also unwrap the meat after about 10 mins of cooling and let it sit in the turned-off oven to create a drier meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Exellent...I used venison/pork mixture. I also increased spices by 1/4 and added a tablespoon of onoin flakes, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1/8 tsp of habanero powder. Was really great. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. Is really great on a warm evening with a cold beer. I will be making this for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Same ingredients, different cooking technique: Wrap each half of the two pounds of meat mixture in the foil - not particularly water proof, either, just snug enough to give it a shape - and then let it sit in the refrigerator for 24 hours. After at least 24 hours, place it in a deep pan (I used a stock pot), cover both logs with cold water, bring it to a boil. Boil for one hour (I reduced to a simmer to keep the steam down). Drain and unwrap the foil, pat the sausage with paper towels, chill before slicing. Really good, and I only turned the logs once in the water, they kind of floated but then again I used 1/2 bison and 1/2 beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I used Venison in this recipe instead of ground beef and shared it with the guys I work with. They were all up around the 4.5 to 5.0 with their votes. I will use this recipe again. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! And so simple! I did increase the onion and garlic powder to 1/2 tsp each. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
not bad..didnt really taste like salami..but liked it..will try it with pork next time..will make again. thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Super, thx! How do you guys store it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONES380

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Absoloutely delicious!! I am so impressed with how simple this is and boy does it ever taste good! Salty and spicy, just the way salami should be. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilaussiemum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was fun to make and share. My friends were impressed that you could make salami at home. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States