Homemade Salami Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
not bad..didnt really taste like salami..but liked it..will try it with pork next time..will make again. thanks..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
Angela, I'm so glad you posted this recipe. It was given to me by a very dear friend. Over the years it was missplaced, so I'm happy to find it once again. This recipe is more of a summer sausage than a salami. Your proportions of seasonings to curing salt is perfect. The flavor and texture are wonderul. Most people can't believe you made it yourself. Its quality is as good as any butcher and sausage maker's. Goes soooo good with beer on a hot summer day. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
This is an awesome recipe! And so simple! I did increase the onion and garlic powder to 1/2 tsp each. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
Wonderful! A great blend of spices to create a very flavorful, moist sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I used Venison in this recipe instead of ground beef and shared it with the guys I work with. They were all up around the 4.5 to 5.0 with their votes. I will use this recipe again. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Exellent...I used venison/pork mixture. I also increased spices by 1/4 and added a tablespoon of onoin flakes, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1/8 tsp of habanero powder. Was really great. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. Is really great on a warm evening with a cold beer. I will be making this for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was just okay. The log turns brown after baking, so if your not used to eating brown salami, this recipe is not for you. Looks more like sausage than salami. However, the combined spices made for a decent flavor. But I also tripled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julabell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was impressive- really tasted like salami and had similar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellent. Have made it several times for parties and serve with cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was excellent - dry and spicy. The family liked it very much. Excellent with cheese and crackers. I would definitely slice it uniformly with my electric slicer before serving to guests, as the log shape was not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Chef John's Homemade Beef Jerky

High protein is all the rage and this beef jerky recipe doesn't fail!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States