Homemade Salami Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This looked like such an interesting recipe I had to try it. It turned out wonderful. Will for sure make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
DO NOT substitute table salt for Curing salt. I did and boy, was it a mistake. Here is my variation of your wonderful recipe after a couple of trials: 1.25 lbs 97% lean ground beef 1.25 lbs lean game meat (I used elk) 2T Curing salt 1/2t garlic powder 1.2t onion powder 1/2t mustard seed 1/2T black pepper dash red pepper flakes 1T liquid smoke my red pepper flakes dominated the meat flavor when I used 1t. I may use more than 1T liquid smoke next time, just based on personal tastes. This doesn't last long around the house, it is sooooo good. I also unwrap the meat after about 10 mins of cooling and let it sit in the turned-off oven to create a drier meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
great basic recipe that can be modified with your choice of spices. we always smoke our sausage in our weber. everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oh! cooking mama!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
We enjoyed this very much. Some of my children were surprised that Salami could be made at home. I liked it because I knew exactly what was in it. This taste very good. Great snack with crackers and cheese too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
This was excellent - dry and spicy. The family liked it very much. Excellent with cheese and crackers. I would definitely slice it uniformly with my electric slicer before serving to guests, as the log shape was not very appealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Excellent. Have made it several times for parties and serve with cheese and crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
This was impressive- really tasted like salami and had similar texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
This was just okay. The log turns brown after baking, so if your not used to eating brown salami, this recipe is not for you. Looks more like sausage than salami. However, the combined spices made for a decent flavor. But I also tripled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julabell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
Exellent...I used venison/pork mixture. I also increased spices by 1/4 and added a tablespoon of onoin flakes, 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1/8 tsp of habanero powder. Was really great. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe. Is really great on a warm evening with a cold beer. I will be making this for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I used Venison in this recipe instead of ground beef and shared it with the guys I work with. They were all up around the 4.5 to 5.0 with their votes. I will use this recipe again. Great job!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Portage, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States