Homemade Salami Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This was just 'ok'. It helps if you go into this NOT thinking salami, because it really isn't close to salami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Junkerjunk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Super, thx! How do you guys store it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONES380

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
OMG! This was so great. I only used 1/2 tsp red pepper b/c I didn't want it to spicy. Will make over again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
Absoloutely delicious!! I am so impressed with how simple this is and boy does it ever taste good! Salty and spicy, just the way salami should be. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilaussiemum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
Same ingredients, different cooking technique: Wrap each half of the two pounds of meat mixture in the foil - not particularly water proof, either, just snug enough to give it a shape - and then let it sit in the refrigerator for 24 hours. After at least 24 hours, place it in a deep pan (I used a stock pot), cover both logs with cold water, bring it to a boil. Boil for one hour (I reduced to a simmer to keep the steam down). Drain and unwrap the foil, pat the sausage with paper towels, chill before slicing. Really good, and I only turned the logs once in the water, they kind of floated but then again I used 1/2 bison and 1/2 beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I may have used too much curing salt. When I ate this I couldn't determine if it was too salty or just spicy. My husband like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Have made this recipe many times & everyone who has tried it,loved it & wanted the recipe. Thank You for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
The flavor was off. My husband didn't like it as it left a bad aftertaste. I ended up throwing out most of it. I followed the directions to the T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by a Crafty Stitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I missed something on this recipe. It was time consuming and didn't taste like sausage at all. We make all of our sausage from scratch and don't know what I could have done to change this one to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynCocks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This was fun to make and share. My friends were impressed that you could make salami at home. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Homemade Chili

This homemade chili is hearty and meaty, and is very quick to make.

How to Make Easy Homemade Pastrami

See how to make easy, deli-style pastrami at home!

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States