Homemade Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This was a really yummy recipe, I used homemade chicken stock, added corn and used 2% milk instead of soy but those were my only alterations and it was delicious! I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RSharpe701

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Timberville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dayton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
Nice potato soup recipe. Used chicken broth instead of boullion/water, cream instead of soy milk, omittied broccoli and used mashed potato flakes to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I liked this recipe, especially because I was looking for something without cheese. I made a few changes that I thought made it better however. I used 2 vegetable bouillon cubes and 16oz water and 14.5oz can of chicken broth. I used 2% Milk instead of soymilk. I also added cornstarch at the very end to thicken it up. Lastly, I didn't add any seasoning at the beginning, I added parsley and italian seasoning at the end and I added white pepper that gave it a very nice home cooked meal flavor to complement the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
This was pretty good....I did make some changes. I omitted the celery and broccoli while adding some crushed red pepper flakes and bacon. This soup is very versatile. I think next time I will add flour to thicken it and red onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Photo by RainbowJewels
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I'm giving this recipe 4 stars, mostly due to the changes I made to mine. It was a good base recipe though. I used Russet potatoes, peeled & chopped. I omitted the carrot. I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic, chopped Omitted the Italian seasoning and used fresh black pepper instead I used skim milk instead of soy milk and I first made a roux with flour & butter. Also omitted the broccoli. OK, I made A LOT of changes. This was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowJewels

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
It called for way to much spices, no one in the house would eat it myself included, so I definetly would not make this again or suggest it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Excellent. Minimal changes; I don't typically measure seasonings in soup...I used 2% instead of soy milk...and I did not add broccoli, I was looking for a more traditional soup so I did add about six slices of browned and crumbled bacon (more for my man's tastes than mine I guess). Served with toast, super simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
This soup was wonderful !!! My 8 and 4 year old even ate it ! I made a bigger bath and added some button mushrooms ....it was so easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I used Mrs. Dash for the non-salt seasoning and it was very strong. My kids were not real fond of it and I really wasn't either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Lowell, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
This was pretty good soup. The flavor was quite good, but could have used something more. I wonder about adding cheese to it? Also, I added flour to thicken it, because it was not very creamy, as I tend to like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States