Homemade Pizza Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I liked it and I will use it again. I changed it only because I only had one can of whole tomatoes in the pantry. What I did was to put them in the blender and made puree, then since I didn't have the other can of crushed tomatoes on hand I just reduced slightly the herb and spices as stated. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSTWINKLE5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Amazing sauce that is very versatile. Use for spaghetti or any other time a red sauce is needed. I've even added meatballs or Italian sausage to it and it tastes amazing. A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I tried this recipe and it turned out great!! The family loved it. We added more topping .thanks for posting this .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was incredibly easy, and very good in taste, color, and consistency. I substituted agave syrup for the brown sugar, but otherwise made it just as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was a great recipe! I left out the brown sugar and couldn't even tell a difference. I also added some extra red pepper flakes which made it spicy and delicious. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexie
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Great sauce, we also use it on stromboli sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Had to tweak to use what I had available in a pinch, but turned out awesome! I didn't have any garlic cloves, so I used the refrigerated jarred kind (3 tsp.). I also didn't have any "tomato puree" so I used one can (15 oz) of tomato sauce and one can (12 oz) of tomato paste along with the 29 oz can of crushed tomatoes. I did end up using 3 tbsp. brown sugar to take away the bitterness caused by the tomato paste, also. I did NOT add any oil to the recipe either. Turned out great and I made two pizzas with it and have LOTS left over for probably four more pizzas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very good, I threw in a little fresh basil and a little balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was an excellent and easy basic pizza sauce, and will likely be my family's go-to sauce! This could easily be a 5-star by adding some fresh ingredients to it-- chopped tomatoes, onions, and fresh basil-- if you have time and have them on hand. Otherwise, it's delicious as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
This sauce is the perfect mix of sweet from the brown sugar and a good spice taste from all the italian spices. We also used fresh on-the-vine tomatoes and pureed them in the food processor. This makes almost enough for 2 pizzas, we froze the second portion and was easy to thaw and use a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States