Homemade Pickled Ginger (Gari) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Great recipe. I used stevia instead of sugar, turned out perfect! I used my awesome Breville food processor on the thinnest setting to get the ginger paper thin. I also simmered the ginger in the brine for a few minutes before I put it in the jar, as someone that reviewed this before me said to do. I did not use a whole lot of salt, and I did not rinse it off, so the saltiness is perfect. Turned out awesome! No, it is not pink, but it's natural and homemade and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
This came out amazing! I used a potato peeler to slice as thinly as I could and I added a drop of red food coloring for the pink effect. Super easy and super tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmerZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden Grove, California, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I didn't know this would be so easy to make. I didn't have any rice vinegar, so I used apple cider vinegar, next time I make it I will try the rice vinegar and see if there is a difference.Mine tasted great.I used a regular potato peeler and it came out fine.I love having this on hand.thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
very fast and easy to put together. I love it thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Hello! I'm a beginner at far east cooking. And with helping from you now it's grown easier. Thanks . Vincent H.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
The pink color has nothing to do with the quality of your rice vinegar. Only very young ginger will turn pink during the pickling process. The ginger root you buy at your supermarket is not young ginger. I doubt if any companies are using coloring to create the pink color, unless it is really cheap ginger. Any Japanese-made pickled gingr will be young ginger. If it really bugs you that it's not pink, try to find young ginger - you will probably have to go to an Asian market or a large public market in a major metropolitan area with a large Asian population. I like mine just fine white. This is a great recipe, just the way I make mine. You will love the taste, don't worry that it's not pink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I've made this several times. The recipe is easy and quick to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa A.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Easy with great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
The recipe does not say whether to wash off the salt. I did not, and the ginger turned out too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Asian Ginger Dressing

This fresh-tasting dressing is especially tasty on cabbage salads.

All about Ginger

See how ginger is used to flavor so many foods and drinks.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States