Homemade Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by cubancooker
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Instead of Pine nuts (way expensive) I have used almonds, pecans,even pistachios. Put a bit more oil on top before freezing and yumm- o!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
It is exactly what I was looking for. I will try it with roasted garlic and pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I roasted my garlic and pine nuts. I also omitted the parsley - not availabe at the store or in my garden. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tikster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Very good and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Yes a good recipe. Instead I "cheated" and added three heaping tablespoon of jar (store bought) olive salad, ground up fine in place of these ingredients, adding more olive oil and anything else you care to add to make the pesto. It has a strong garlic taste and is very good. Also a winner to mix into thin spaghetti. but this is a good recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Konos

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Good and simple recipe. I like mine with a little more olive oil, so either I didn't put the right amount in, or it needs a little extra. Fortunately, that is a pretty easy thing to do at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlfakes
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is a classic pesto that's wonderful for so many recipes. At the end of the summer I make a big batch without pine nuts and freeze in ice cube trays. When frozen I pop the cubes out and store in freezer bags to add to soups, sauces, and pasta. JUST A SIDE NOTE OF INTEREST...YOU CAN TAKE CUTTINGS OFF YOUR BASIL PLANTS AND PUT IN A GLASS OF WATER. THEY ROOT VERY QUICKLY. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Yum! This was my first time making homemade pesto. I have basil growing like crazy right now. I did use walnuts (toasted) and more garlic. Fabulous flavor and easy, quick meal to put together over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Make and Store Pesto

See a time-saving trick to have delicious homemade pesto on hand any time.

Pesto

Watch how to make this top-rated pesto recipe.

Potato Pesto and Feta Pizza

See how to make a pesto and potato pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States