Homemade Peanut Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
2 Tablespoons of oil is not enough. Here is what we did: 2 cups peanuts, 3 Tablespoons oil, and 2 Tablespoons of water. It was still chunky but the kids liked it. Actually, the kids made it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee's Technique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I just made the homemade peanut butter and is was so easy and taste awesome!! I made a couple of changes 1. I used canola oil and 2. I added a tablespoon of honey. I put everything in the blender an let it go. It looks as creamy and smooth as store bought and taste so much better. I used no salt roasted peanuts and it was still so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jypseygal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
I make homemade peanut butter all the time and NEVER use oil. If you let your food processor run long enough, the natural oils are released and it gets very creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I did not think this was good at all. Maybe I did something wrong. I followed recipe as directed and it had a horrible taste. Sorry, will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
very good basic recipe..I mixed it up a bit and added Hersheys special dark cocoa powder and some splenda powder and a little canola oil to make it smoooooth. very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
I tried this recipie, followed it to the letter, unfortunately it was dry and pasty, I let my processer run for a very long time but it was not getting any better. I decided to add 100 grams of butter and some maple syrup to sweeten and it turned out ok. I would definately not make this recipie again, one star without modifying the recipe, after modifications two stars, I will however, keep trying different varieties until I get it right :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIANAO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by KGora
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This was very easy to make in my Vitamix. I had some unsalted roasted peanuts I had on hand so I used them. I didn't add oil and am glad I didn't. I recommend trying peanuts on their own before adding the oil. My peanuts gave off enough oil on their own that the addition would have made it too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I posted this recipe & wanted to clear some things up. I have heard from numerous sources NEVER to add oil...that the nuts have enough natural oils. I now use the Magic Bullet. Unfortunately I went through 8 blenders/food processors b/c the motor burns out after running for a given amt of time. So cannot let it run long enough to turn peanuts into smooth PB. I still use this recipe on a weekly basis (im a huge PB fan) and stand by it. I now use 1 jar Planters Honey Rst and 1 jar of Planters 5 Alarm (spicy) and everyone still loves it. Does anyone have a recommendation for an affordable food processor (Vitamix is out of my price range and too big) whose motor will not burn out after 2 or 3 min of use? Also like compact appliances b/c live in apt w/ limited counter space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Captain Morgan

Cooking Level: Expert



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Peanut Butter Chili

See how to turn common pantry items into delicious vegetarian chili.

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Make a grilled sandwich with gooey melted peanut butter and sweet sliced bananas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States