Homemade Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are absolutely dangerous! I'm going to give them away as gifts. I didn't have mini muffin tins, so I created 5 gigantic cups with the recipe as it. A half or even quarter of one is more than enough. I added graham cracker to the PB mix (as suggested) and it turned out swell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aallenv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were amazing and a huge hit! I have to admit I did alter it to make it a copycat of the well known brand. For the peanut butter mix I used half a stick of butter and 1 cup of creamy peanut butter. Then I added 1 cup of sifted powdered sugar. I stuck this is in the freezer to make it easier to roll into balls. I omitted the gram crackers entirely. I live in Japan and can't get Peanut butter cups, I'm glad to know that I can have the same exact thing if I make them myself! I don't think I can eat store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Was delicious I did not have the confectioners sugar or shortening so Improvised with granulated sugar and margarine. I did not make little cups and in stead of chocolate chips I used crushed aero chocolate bar which I had laying around. Instead of tiny little cups I took this same recipe and made one giant cup by taking a small cake pan and lining it with parchment paper then doing the chocolate the same as suggested and the filling I used 1 whole small jar of peanut butter and a lot of aero pieces 3 cups full this tasted great would be better with confectioners sugar. Total process took about 3 hours including the chilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I was so enthusiastic about this recipe, and then pretty disappointed. Really, the only problem I had with it is that the shortening mixed into the chocolate gives it that cheap 'mockolate' taste, like a discount chocolate Easter bunny. If I make this again I will leave out the shortening because it definitely alters the flavor of the chocolate. That would probably mean that the chocolate would not harden without some time in the fridge, but I'd be fine with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was a hit!! Everyone who tried them said they were amazing! I didn't change a thing with the recipe and it came out perfect! I used Ghirardelli milk chocolate chips and Jif Extra Crunchy. I'll be using this again for my cookie exchange tomorrow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Really really good!!!! if you're not a fan of crunchy pb creamy works fine!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Very dry peanut filling, not peanut flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
YUM!! amazing recpe! A couple of things to change while making them: melt down about a half cup more of chocolate chips because I ran out of chocolate for the tops! also, I would suggest melting them in two batches because by the time you need the chocolaate to put on the top it's too hard to work with. when you're putting the tops on, I would suggest freezing the cups for about 3 minutes before you put the top on becuse otherwise it's hard to spread, and you can get a more professional look witht the chocolate if it's not all gooey. All in all I thought that this was a wonderul recipe and it is alot of fun to make!!!! Thanks for reading!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kira

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
They were good- the texture threw me off though. They weren't as creamy as I would like them. They were too gritty for my liking, but still good. Will try altering the amount of graham crackers next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I didn't have any mini muffin papers, so I decided to make regular sized cups. The amount of chocolate mix was perfect for 12 medium cups. However, I had to make a second batch of filling, since there was only enough for 6 of them. Also, remember to take the peanut butter off the stove BEFORE adding the icing and graham cracker crumbs, otherwise the mixture will be too thin. Although these were very time-consuming (especially for one person) they were well worth it in the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States