Homemade Peanut Butter Cups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I substituted dark chocolate for the milk chocolate chips. I chopped up solid bars from the dollar store. I think it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I used dark chocolate instead. I just "glopped" a bit of the chocolate in each cup, refrigerated while I made the peanut butter filling, with creamy pb, after filling I put the remaining chocolate on right away. The warm pb filling stuck to the chocolate better. Yum!!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orchard, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I've made these 3 times now. Yes they do take time, but they are so very good! The method you use to get the chocolate into the cup and to cover it doesnt matter, as long as they all get together they will taste fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StonedMama
Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This is one awesome peanut butter cup recipe! I've tried some other ones but I like the graham cracker addition to it. When I don't have them, I substitute saltine crackers, it works just as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Terrific! If you love peanut butter cups, you'll feel like you just opened a store-bought package when you taste these. My mom and I made them the other day, and that was fun in itself. We did run out of the peanut butter mixture with still three cups to fill (that was because our cups were slightly larger than the recipe called for), so we just substituted with a spoonful of peanut butter. Those were good, too. Thank you for sharing this recipe! It will be used again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herbster, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Just like a Reese's!! Tried another recipe that wasn't quite that good...this one was great with a few modifications. I cut the butter in half, used smuckers natural creamy peanutbutter,and dumped out the oil(read about this in another review that someone did) before I used it to give it that drier consistency. A dash of salt, and just a handful of crushed graham crackers,turned out awesome! Also if it's not a thick consistency just add a little more powdered sugar.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
I should have read the reviews first :) There's some quick and easy tips on here for the chocolate and filling. I did find the method tedious with the paintbrush, but enjoyable at the same time. The one thing I would for sure do is cut back drasticly on the confectors sugar. Or eliminate. I am not experienced, but I found these awfully sweet, so much that it overpowered the peanut butter taste. I'd like to try and get the right texture simply with the graham crumbs and PB. I would try again and use the tips about rolling the cooled PB mixture into small balls and pack them in. Or penny size discs. I dont have fancy baking tools, so paintbrush it is for me! But I found that doing half of the cups at a time while leaving the chocolate on 'melt' setting worked well. End result is the family LOVED them. Just too sweet for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
These are really good. I used parchment paper muffin cups - they don't stick at all. Also increased the peanut butter to 1 cup and added extra graham crumbs to make up for the extra PB. The graham crumbs give them a nice texture. Would be extra good with crunchy PB (I only have smooth).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
These are absolutely dangerous! I'm going to give them away as gifts. I didn't have mini muffin tins, so I created 5 gigantic cups with the recipe as it. A half or even quarter of one is more than enough. I added graham cracker to the PB mix (as suggested) and it turned out swell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aallenv

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
These were amazing and a huge hit! I have to admit I did alter it to make it a copycat of the well known brand. For the peanut butter mix I used half a stick of butter and 1 cup of creamy peanut butter. Then I added 1 cup of sifted powdered sugar. I stuck this is in the freezer to make it easier to roll into balls. I omitted the gram crackers entirely. I live in Japan and can't get Peanut butter cups, I'm glad to know that I can have the same exact thing if I make them myself! I don't think I can eat store bought again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

See how to make an incredibly easy peanut butter and chocolate cookie.

Creamy Peanut Butter Fudge

This smooth fudge combines the flavors of peanut and marshmallow. Delicious!

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States