Homemade Pan Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The first time I made these, I did the recipe as is and it was a bit sweet for me. The second time I cut down and it wasn't sweet enough for the kiddies but perfect for me. I think I found the goldylocks zone on the third batch. 1/8 cup plus 1 tbsp sugar is more than enough. After cutting the dough into chunks I also poked the center and filled them with lightly glazed vidalia onions in all but the ones for the kids. They increase well for sandwiches too provided you leave enough room in between them for expansion and even cooking. Thanks for the recipe. Next time, the onions go in all of them so I get a taste before little hands make off with the goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DAMARIS
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
These are awesome....I combine sugar, yeast and warm water for 10 minutes then add that and all other ingredients to my ka for 8 minutes.....let rise for an hr....cut, roll, put in pan...pour melted butter over...let rise another 1/2 hr and bake at 350 until golden brown.....yummy....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were outstanding! Everyone gobbled them up and then went back for more. This is definitely my new favorite roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NLSHILLINGS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Great recipe! Made these this morning & they turned out so yummy! I started the yeast in the milk, water & sugar and didn't need all the flour - I live at a high altitude & don't know if that's the reason or not, but I never have to add as much flour as a recipe calls for. I determine how much to use by adding in small amounts until dough comes away from the bowl easily then stop regardless of how much I've used or what the recipe calls for. If I add more, I have heavy bread, so that may be why some people found these heavy??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Rolls were tough and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These are the best! I make them for every holiday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
I was in a hurry so I put all the ingredients, wet first, then dry followed by shortening into my bread machine and ran on bread setting, when done continued to step 3 and it worked fantastic. A Keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
You would not believe how easy and delicious these are! I make them every chance I get! They remind me of the warm yeast rolls from the cafeteria in elementary school. Make sure to have plenty of butter handy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
My mom couldn't believe I made these. They were so yummy. I made them for Thanksgiving. I cooked them before I put the turkey in the oven in the morning, and then I popped them back in the oven while I was letting my turkey rest. That way everyone had nice warm rolls. Excellent recipe! These are my personal notes: Dissolve the sugar into the warm water, then add yeast. Let it sit for 10mins. Then add milk (replace the water with milk), oil, and beaten egg. Then add listed amount of flour, and salt. Add the remaining flour if required. Also, when baking- be really careful of the baking time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
look good but a little hard maybe on my next try it well come out better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Trujillo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Garlic Parmesan Dinner Rolls

See how to make delicious no-knead dinner rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States