Homemade Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Delicious! The only thing I added was some garlic to the water while the potatoes were boiling. Forgot the salt but it didn't matter, the flavour was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I liked i didnt use a wisk at all with this i like it better that way,, used 4 potatos mashed with fork,,added salt pepper, 1/2 cup milk,, topped with mozzarella cheese tastes so yumm didnt use bread crumb but was so nice as well..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Awsome. I added ranch and a little sour cream. Left out the milk and it was awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was pretty good, but I'm thinking perhaps a bit less bread crumbs for me next time and a little more cheese. It was just a bit too funky for me. Thanks though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Statesboro, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
I think the measurements are all off. 1/2 cup of milk and butter are way to little for the amount of potatoes - ended up pretty dry and having to mix more in. also, just spreading breadcrumbs on top gives you just that, crumbs on top. think you need to saute em in some butter first so they can brown more and get crispy. all in all kinda just blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Great alternative to regular garlic mashed. For the bread crumbs, I melted margarine and mixed in regular bread crumbs and garlic powder. I find the garlic mashed potatoes in restaurants are often too garlic-y for me, so I like having the garlic taste in the bread crumbs instead of the actual potatoes. I mixed some of the shredded cheese in with the potatoes and also added a layer of shredded cheese in between the potatoes in the baking dish. (potatoes - cheese - potatoes - cheese - breadcrumbs)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent recipe. I didn't have garlic seasoned bread crumbs so I just added some garlic powder to some store bought seasoned crumbs and it turned out perfect. Make sure you don't add too much milk at once or it may turn out a bit runny. If this does happen feel free to thicken it up with some potato flakes. Recipe is perfect as it stands. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
It was great mashed potatoes. Very chessy. I loved it and want to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
Made lots of additions - sauteed onions, sauteed bell peppers, mushrooms. Made this for a tailgate party - I would probably make it again for the same type of occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Good recipe idea with probably hundreds of variations. Omitted bread crumbs, used feta cheese, topped with sauteed mushrooms and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States