Homemade Marshmallows II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
A note to a vegans: Emes kosher gel is not vegan. Vegan Supreme marshmallows recently went out of business when they discovered that Emes kosher does contain animal products. Find out more in the Sept/Oct issue of VegNews magazine. Use agar as an alternative gelling agent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUSHMONGER
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
Use Pure granulated cane sugar and the recipe works fine.My marshmallows turned out just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSHMONGER

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
I hope that the person who posted this recipe will tell me how she whipped the marshmallows. I tried this twice. I used a thermometer to judge the temperature, but when I beat it, it turned to dust. I am desperate to find a vegetarian marshmallow recipe. I used a stand mixer. Too much power?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This recipe is not very good. When I tried to "whip" the "marshmellows" (as Barb said you should), the off-white mixture became clumpy and crumb-like. In my opinion, this recipe deserves no stars because the "marshmellows" tasted bad and this whole thing was a waste of my time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
I followed the directions explicitly and ended up with a hard, crumbly lump. Really disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
Hah, well, the recipe didn't work at all for marshmallows, but all was not lost! I heated it to around 20 degrees hotter, then added some powdered ginger and clove, and now I've got myself some tasty hard candies. =p There is definitely some sort of ingredient or two missing in this recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I think your forgetting the gelatin or agar agar? Because you can't make marshmallows without one of those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
Hmm. I would be careful of any marshmallow recipes that do not contain agar agar,pectin,or gelatin to give that chewy texture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
i found an alternate recipe which uses agar agar, or kanteen, the sea weed coagulent, when i tried this recipie, i had the opposite problem, too soft, but tasted yummy. maybe if you try this one you will find a happy medium. good lick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
The review (treasureheart ,I think) was correct. This recipe is missing something that is very helpful--------3 tablespoons of clear,flavorless KNOX JELLOtin. It is very helpful for the stiffening process. add jello to the 3/4 cup cold water (chil 25 min). Add to mixture. The best place to get exact directions is on OPRAH.com under clebrity Recipes--under Martha stewards Hot cocoa and Marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States