Homemade Marshmallows I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
My first attempt was with the recipe in half. Don't do that! The gelatin set up too much and then caused lumps. I also did not get the sugar mixture hot enough, second mistake. So, my second attempt, I made full recipe and used a new candy thermometer. Followed directions much more closely, with vanilla added. Turned out great! I put mine in a 8x8 pan and have "jumbo" (tall) mallows. I'm anxious to keep playing with this recipe; different flavors, add color, use cookie cutters, etc!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I made this to use in a rice crispy treat recipe, followed the directions & the tip to add vanilla extract. I used the recipe just after beating (about 12 minutes, until it looked like marshmallow fluff) and mixed with my cereal. The taste is amazing! Puts store bought mallows to shame! I will be making this again and if that turns out well I will make these for gifts (dipped in chocolate, rolled in coconut flakes). I will probably use two spoons and attempt to make little balls and put a wooden skewer in them to make it easier to gift. Omit the coconut & this presentation would probably make a convenient stirrer for hot chocolate. Thank you for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These marshmallows are delicious! Thank you DIZ for sharing the extra cooking step! I followed those directions and they came out perfectly. The kids love them and I've been told to never buy storebought again! I also added 2 t vanilla to the gelatin just before I added the syrup. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I am an apprentice baker and I make marshmallows regularly in my bakery. This recipe is not complete. The key to the texture of marshmallws is the temperature of the syrup. The syrup must be brought to just below the softball stage on a candy thermometer. There are also a couple of ingredients missing, namely cornsyrup and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I gave this four stars because I didn't make it according to the actual directions, I followed other reviewers instructions instead. I love this recipe as I am allergic to raw/undercooked eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I'm sure this would work and taste great if followed properly. That said, I tried making them with Splenda. NOT a success. The marshmallows did not set up properly. Follow the recipe right and they'll be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This recipe was very unclear and hard to follow, and my marshmallows turned out like a flavorless gelatin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pommiegurl130

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
As a first time marshmallow maker...this recipe is simple and woked out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This is a good recipe especially if your favorite boys are allergic to corn and gluten. The ingredient list does not list a flavor though and if you do not add a flavor to these they retain the stink and flavor of geletain. After reading some of the reviews also I decided to make certain to bring my sugar up to the soft candy stage about 240 degrees and begin whipping it while the sugar was hot. After about 3 minutes when the syrup became cloudy I added the gelatin mixture and whipped on the highest setting of my kitchenaid (I've had run ins with gelatin and whipping speed before) until the mixture was cool, white and held peaks. After they came down to room temp I put it in the fridge like another member said until it set. These were fabulous. I can now make gluten free "rice krispie" treats yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Takia Washington

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
This recipe is perfect (with just a touch of change to the instructions)... I put the water and gelatin to sit like in the original directions. Then I cooked the sugar and water till soft-ball stage (about 230 degrees) about 5-6 minutes. I added the sugar water HOT to the gelatin in my kitchenaid mixer and started to whip on medium until it was foamy(about 1 minute). Then switched to high for 12 minutes. The mix doubles in size and when ready looks like marshmallow fluff (marshmallow in a jar). Poured mine into a baking pan sprinkled with a one to one ratio of corn starch and powdered sugar. All was perfect. thanks to those who wrote comments in their reviews....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Emily's Famous Marshmallows

See how to make fun, fluffy homemade marshmallows.

Homemade Dark Chocolate (Paleo)

This rich, paleo-friendly homemade dark chocolate melts in the mouth.

Homemade Valentine’s Chocolates

Make decadent homemade chocolate candies for your Valentine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States