Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Made strawberry syrup! Reduced water to 1/2 cup, pureed, in blender, one bag of partially thawed/frozen strawberries - 12 oz. (it was a very thick mixture), used 2 cups of brown sugar and 1/2 teasoon of almond extract. Followed cooking recipe to a tee. Let cool. There was a small amount of sludge on the top of the syrup, but it was very easy to skim off. I will try mixed berries next time! As others have said, we will never buy syrup again! We loved flavored syrup and it's so expensive. What a find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
After making pancakes for breakfast I realized I didn't have any maple or pancake syrup left. I tried this recipe. It was as expected. It tasted much like dark corn syrup. It resembled nothing of maple syrup or even the store bought pancake syrup. In a pinch it sufficed, but I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
My kids used the last of the pancake syrup without telling me. I knew I had this recipe saved, so I gave it a try and it was fantastic! I don't care for maple, so I used vanilla and rum extracts, about 2 tsp of each. The flavor was phenomenal and I love the fact that there's no corn syrup in this. No more store-bought pancake syrup in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Love it over the fluffy pancake recipe on this site. Wish it was a little thicker but tastes great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Good in a pinch.........didn't have maple so had to use van plus butter. One out of three kids liked, they ate it though planning on buying maple so I try as written..quick and eas thank youy.the only thing is it thickened on the plate too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I've been making this recipe for years and it has been a hit with my kids! Thier friends do not realize it is not store bought :) I always add 1 tsp vanilla in addition to the maple extract and for holidays I add a dash of cinnamon. Makes it really yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2011
My god this was amazing! In fact my family and I finished most of it in one night(breakfast for dinner day) needless to say this was just as good as my mothers recipe I did add a small amount of butter so i balanced it out with a bit more sugar. Thats only because my husband likes buttery syrup. This is the first good review i have given in a while. Im picky, a great cook, and expect a certain level of quality for my food. To the creator of this recipe please direct me to more of your recipes this was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent. But consider adding 1/8th Tsp SALT! Tempers the sweetness (plus most bottled ones include salt as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
So simple, so cheap, so great. This is how great this stuff is: My 11 year old started licking her plate after all the pancakes were gone (not that I condone such behavior, but I understand), my 6 year old syrup snob couldn't tell the difference between this and store bought, and my 4 year old followed his 11 year old sister's lead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadPooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
EXCELLENT- will never buy store-bought-mystery-ingredient-syrup again! I used 1/2 the recipe proportions, and added 1 Tablespoon of real pure maple syrup for the flavor(grade B, labeled "For Cooking Only") then I poured it into a perfect little jelly jar!! YUM! ..FYI on the pure maple syrup-- I bought a little jar at a specialty Maple Store.. about $11 for a little jar-- it is BETTER than maple extract!!! and more natural!! I used this over the maple extract! FYI the lighter the color of maple syrup, the sweeter it is.. the darker the maple syrup, the more maple-flavor it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States