Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Excellent. But consider adding 1/8th Tsp SALT! Tempers the sweetness (plus most bottled ones include salt as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
So simple, so cheap, so great. This is how great this stuff is: My 11 year old started licking her plate after all the pancakes were gone (not that I condone such behavior, but I understand), my 6 year old syrup snob couldn't tell the difference between this and store bought, and my 4 year old followed his 11 year old sister's lead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MadPooh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
EXCELLENT- will never buy store-bought-mystery-ingredient-syrup again! I used 1/2 the recipe proportions, and added 1 Tablespoon of real pure maple syrup for the flavor(grade B, labeled "For Cooking Only") then I poured it into a perfect little jelly jar!! YUM! ..FYI on the pure maple syrup-- I bought a little jar at a specialty Maple Store.. about $11 for a little jar-- it is BETTER than maple extract!!! and more natural!! I used this over the maple extract! FYI the lighter the color of maple syrup, the sweeter it is.. the darker the maple syrup, the more maple-flavor it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Yummy! I didn't realize I was out of syrup until this morning, I made this recipe in 5 minutes using less water than the recipe calls for. It is wonderful, I will never purchase store bought maple syrup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
made the recipe as is, only i added a splash of vanilla extract. this stuff is so good! i'm never going back to store bought syrup again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
We have made this for years. Real sugar thickens it better than Splenda; you can use all white sugar with fruit-flavored extracts and a little food coloring; kids love it; and if you want to experiment with thickening a sugar-free syrup, try a bit of Guar Gum, which you can buy in health food stores. I have a feeling this IS the way they do it in the stores when it's not Vermont maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This is excellent. The same exact recipe Mom made for syrup when I was a kid. For those who use Splenda instead of sugar, you can substitute Splenda and Splenda brown sugar blend for both the white and brown sugars. I like to use half and half of maple flavoring and butter flavoring so it mimics the butter-flavored syrup in the grocery stores. Once you make this, you won't ever go back to the stuff in the bottle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made this in a pinch. Turned out great! Caught my five year old scooping up the syrup from his plate to eat it. This is "Mr. Picky" we're talking about, so I know this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Okay.. so true.. this is way better the the stuff you get in the store.. and since i know live in germany and can't buy the stuff in the store.. i have missed good syrup.. but now.. i can make it and its super easy and taste amazing!! thank you for shareing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This is TERRIFIC!!! Used all white sugar and it tastes almost exactly like real maple syrup! Next time I'll try it with brown and white sugar. I will warn you though, if you're recycling a bottle that had store bought syrup in it, let the syrup cool before putting it in the bottle. Mine melted and then I had a "DUUUUUUUUHHHH! That was stupid!" moment. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States