Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful!!! I did not have maple extract, I substituted vanilla and 1 tbsp of butter. Used 1/2 cup of white sugar, 1 1/2 cup of brown sugar and boiled 20 mins to thicken up to consistency of my liking. Will never ever, ever buy store bought syrup again! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by substance777

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I've been making this for years and everytime no one believes it's homemade! I add 1 Tablespoon of butter flavor and 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract and my family loves it. You can use other flavorings to suit your tastes! To make it a thicker texture I add 1-2 tablespoons of corn starch disolved in cold water and add it after I'm done boiling the syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was good, but too sweet for my family. Next time, I'll use only 1.5 cups of sugar. I'll have to reheat this leftover syrup and dilute it with water next time we need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarlei

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
perfect! Saved me when I had four hungry boys, a stack of pancakes and a 1/4 inch of syrup in the bottom of the bottle! It was so fast and easy I may start doing it this way from now on! Cheaper and no corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Fowler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
No more buying syrup for us!! Everyone loved this recipe:) I didn't have any maple so I substituted vanilla in place of it. Super simple and yummy!! Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
very good , but very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Super easy. Made it on a whim with my homemade pumpkin pancakes. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Better then the store bought stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Made strawberry syrup! Reduced water to 1/2 cup, pureed, in blender, one bag of partially thawed/frozen strawberries - 12 oz. (it was a very thick mixture), used 2 cups of brown sugar and 1/2 teasoon of almond extract. Followed cooking recipe to a tee. Let cool. There was a small amount of sludge on the top of the syrup, but it was very easy to skim off. I will try mixed berries next time! As others have said, we will never buy syrup again! We loved flavored syrup and it's so expensive. What a find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
After making pancakes for breakfast I realized I didn't have any maple or pancake syrup left. I tried this recipe. It was as expected. It tasted much like dark corn syrup. It resembled nothing of maple syrup or even the store bought pancake syrup. In a pinch it sufficed, but I will probably not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States