Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
This is real good...I added only tp at first as misread at first had funny taste but after adding more extract it was delicious I still only added in long run 1 and 1/2 teaspoons and it was good... But I went to pour it in bottle for my super. The pan unforantly fell on my foot and their went the syrup.. Luckily had couple tb of syrup for my meal though... I will make this agin.. Plus I added 1/8 of tp of corn starch like suggested... I am uses to real maple syrup... So I could went with out it... If use to other pancake syrups you might want to add the 1/8 to possible up to 1/4 of teaspoon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I just made this and LOVE it. Only change I made was to use one and a half cups of brown sugar and half cup of white sugar. So much better than ANYTHING store bought! On another note: Does anyone know if this has to be refrigerated??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
I was so glad to find this recipe when I was in a pinch. Oddly I had maple extract on hand, but I used a lot more than the recipe calls for (maybe a couple tablespoons) and also added some vanilla extract. I also found the original consistency after 3 minutes to be way too thin, so I continued to cook it for another 15 mins or so. In the future if I make this again I will start it on the stove before I mix up my pancake batter, and then it would cook up to be the perfect consistency. I would guess about 25 minutes would be sufficient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
EXCELLENT! This recipe was a pleasant surprise! I was out of maple syrup and needed it to make candied bacon. Coming across this recipe kept me from having to run to the store. Once I tasted it tasted it I knew I had a winner. Now I'm craving pancakes and waffles! Thank you LUCYNDA for sharing your EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Great recipe! It is my standard now. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roundup, Montana, USA
Living In: Flemington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
flavor good. really runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Used 1 cup White and 1 cup Brown sugars, added 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 Tablespoon butter. Came out great for my waffles this morning. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Illusion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
My husband & I love to cook together, we needed syrup for our tasty pancakes and this simple recipe was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe saved my daughter's birthday sleep-over. Making pancakes for the girls' I realized NO SYRUP!!!! Ugghhhh! Thankfully I found this recipe and the girls loved it. I added a tsp. of butter and a cinnamon stick:) Cooked longer to try and thicken it up and it its cooling off the burner as we speak and I suspect it will thicken up even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was pretty good... if you are used to pure maple syrup you will be dissappointed if you expect it to taste like that. By itself it's not very good but when eaten on our french toast it was good. I'd say better than what you'd get with aunt jemima or mrs butters worth. I think next time I will add a bit of butter to the syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Minkus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States