Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We make this all the time in our house now. Once you have this stuff, you won't go back to that store-bought thick brown glue. I can't believe some reviewers were actually disappointed that it didn't taste like store-bought. This is way better and probably much healthier for you. The recipe is so simple, we all have it memorized. You can control how thick your syrup is by how long you simmer on the stove - cook longer for a thicker syrup. BUT be aware that a thicker syrup will also become more crystalized after a few days. We usually go for thinner so we lose less of our syrup to rock candy. We increase the recipe by 50% and add a dash of both maple and vanilla at the end. I also add a dash or two of salt at the beginning; seems to give it more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megamuffin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
I use this recipe all the time! No chemicals, all natural and inexpensive when real maple syrup is too expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
this is an awesome recipe. and the only syrup we will use. : ) and it makes a great gift, just seal in a half quart jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canby, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
Perfect every time!!!! My entire family loves this recipe! Even my 3 yr old wants to start making it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
OMG! Best syrup EVER! Added some vanilla, butter and cornstarch as suggested by the other readers.... Turned out GREAT! Kids licked their plates clean, and I was tempted to do the same! Never buying syrup again! Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Not that great. My family wouldn't touch it until I put butter and vanilla extract in it. I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
OMG! Loved it! I followed others and added a couple tbls of butter, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
I have tried this a few times. The way it's written (minus imitation maple-read the label), with suggestions of other (longer cooking time, additions of vanilla, butter) and this recipe is just *meh*. I've been looking for a replacement for store bought. I don't care for the price, watery quality or inconsistent flavor of "real" maple syrup. I will keep looking for another recipe. By the way, despite the recommendation to cook longer for thicker syrup, that only works if you use it right away otherwise it will just crystalize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kewaskum, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
family favorite! I used the two cups of brown sugar as suggested for thicker syrup and add butter to give it that buttery flavor. Saves tons of money! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Maple Salmon

Make this delicious, easy salmon flavored with maple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States