Homemade Maple Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I was very impressed with this recipe. I tried it because I was curious as to how homemade syrup would come out, and I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't have any maple extract, so I used the suggestion of others and added 2 Tbs. of butter and a little vanilla extract. It was really good. I made the fluffy pancakes this morning (from this site) and used the syrup. The two paired together so well. Thank you. this was a nice change of pace from the store bought stuff we are used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
This was my 1st attempt at making syrup and this was easy and very good. Before putting it over pancakes I tasted it and I wasn't sure if I like it. It has a strong maple flavor which store bought syrup typically does not have but when I put it on the pancakes it was great. It was a bit runny but we also ate it when it was still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I used all brown sugar instead of a mix of both white and brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
This was a quick and easy syrup to make. It was my first attempt at homemade pancake syrup and I was very happy with the results! Reading the other reviews and suggestions I decided to add butter and vanilla extract since I didn't have maple. The flavor was quite good, however I think next time I'll skip the vanilla for a more "store bought" taste. I will definitely make this again! A little side note; some other reviews said it was too runny. I'd bet they reviewed it before the syrup had cooled. It does seem really runny when you first poor it out of the pot, but it thickens as it cools. It was the perfect consistency!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Tasted delicious, but was too thin. I cooked it for about 25 minutes to get a thicker syrup. I also added two tablespoons of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This recipe saved our Christmas morning! I didn't have the maple flavoring on hand, but added 2 TBS of light butter and 1 TBS of vanilla instead. It was quite good and saved us some of the less desirable ingredients found in store bought syrup! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This was very simple and tasty! I did not have any maple flavoring, so I added about 2 tablespoons of butter, a tsp. of vanilla and a little cinnamon. I also added a little extra brown sugar with a splash of lite karo syrup to try to thicken it up. It was very tasty!! The kids loved it. Thank you for the recipe! UPDATE: I tried it again with just 2 tbs. of butter and 1/2 vanilla bean, as suggested by another reviewer, and it was to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
excellent - thanks! cooked up fine, a little runny, but that's ok. I bit strong on the maple flavoring, but that's just for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ERIDQUA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This is a great recipe to have on hand for those days when you want pancakes but realize you are out of syrup! It's also a great alternative to the chemicals and corn syrup in the store bought stuff. When making this recipe I assumed the syrup would taste like store bought "fake" syrup, but I actually think it tasted more like real maple syrup. The recipe is great as is, but it would be fun to experiment as others have done by adding butter or vanilla or more brown sugar. Give this recipe a try and I'm sure you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Love it! I did add a slosh of vanilla and a 2 tbsp of butter to make my husband happier. 100% better than store bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAYLORBUNCH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Maple Walnut Cranberry Sauce

Maple syrup and walnuts create an amazing cranberry sauce.

Simple Syrup

A must-have sweetener. It’s not called “simple” for nothing.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States