Homemade Manti (Traditional Turkish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Perfect dish! I think I made mine a little too big, but everything still tasted wonderful. I will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I really loved the dumplings. Since I live in quite possibly the most meat and potatoes house in the world, I knew there was no way I could get away with the yogurt/hot pepper sauce. SO I improvised with cream of chicken soup, broccoli, milk, pepper and parsley. (It made a sort of sauce)It was delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
I made these for some Turkish people whom came to work at my job for the summer. They loved it. Turns out after you make manti, you bake it on 325 for 15 mins then boil for 10 mins. The dough should be close to paper thin, like phyllo dough, and they said they should be able to fit close to 40 pieces of manti into one spoon full..... That part kinda blew my mind. Had to 86 plain yogurt and sub it with ranch. 2 cups Tomato sauce with 1/5 cup butter and 3 Tbsp pepper flakes instead of oil. It came out pretty amazing, S&P to taste. Going to try this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prothumia
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Yum! This was delicious! I added a little salt to the yogurt, but the spice from the red pepper flakes was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prothumia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was perfect! I thought it might not be salty enough and added salt on top of the yogurt but turned out it was too much. Next time I'll follow the recipe exactly. I froze half the manti, will use real soon. My husband is from Kazakhstan and they make manti alot bigger and with minced pumpkin along with the meat in the filling, and they are steamed not boiled. In my opinion these were a lot better! Loved yogurt and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tallya
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Great instructions, my family (and some others) enjoy the butter sauce with some tomato paste stirred in, makes it richer imo. Also, if you can get a hold of dry sumac, a pinch of it is the perfect topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fakeymcfake

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
thx for everyone for trying this recipe hope u enjoy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Asli this was so easy to make!!! My husband's side of the family is Crimean(Kirim) and they make manti so good! So I took at this with my non-Crimean self and I must admit it came out FABULOUS!!! I made a yogurt sauce with mint, a little oil, red pepper flakes, black pepper, garlic and a touch of salt. YUM!! Thanks again Aslicigim!!!! :)) Tebrik ederim! Cok guzel olmussunuz!!! Allah tamamini erdirsin!!!! Aslicigim emailim yazdim bu reviewa ama nedense kabul etmiyor...ve soyle yazayim umarim anlasilir..tkr ederim...sende cok talisin!!! resimlerine bayiliyorum...ne guzel ailelenle bu kadar yakin olman!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I dont like anything too spicy so I substitute the red pepper flakes for tomato paste (or salca here in Turkey). It is cooked and used the same way as the red pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
Great and easy to follow recipe. I found that 2 eggs made it eggy and I used 1 instead. I had to increase the amount of water but it turned out great. Thanks for a great recipe that my whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama & her Girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Khobar, Ash Sharqiyah, Saudi Arabia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States