Homemade Manti (Traditional Turkish Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pange-pie
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Delicious my fiancé is turkish Cypriot and we have this meal when we eat out sometimes so I thought I would surprise him with this recipe and it was so good in fact better than some restaurants will definitely be using this recipe a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and for the comments from the other members. I tried this last night and it turned out great. I had to rush to get ready for work in between making dinner and helping with homework, and I did not have a lot of time, so I did make a few revisions, some based on comments(I'm sorry if the revisions offend anyone). I browned the hamburger with chopped onion, garlic powder, salt and pepper, then added some finely chopped zucchini that I had in the freezer to the sauteed mixture, and drained it. I doubled the dough recipe, and used suggestions from another commentor: 4 tbsp water, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp milk (double from from there). I still had to add a lot more water to form it into a ball. I did not have time to let it rest for more than a few minutes, so I halved it, rolled out one at a time, (not easy without a rolling pin- glass cups are NOT a very good substitute!) and cut it into about 2x2 inch squarish shapes. I was in a hurry, so many of them were larger. It was also thicker than recommended, but it still tasted good. Added the beef mixture and sealed, placed on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes in 325 degree F oven. Then boiled for about 10 minutes in the salted water. Served with ranch dressing. Even my picky six year old thought they were great. Not as authentic my way, but very cheap to make and tastes great. Thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Made this for my Turkish wife before we were married & before I'd had much exposure to Turkish cuisine (can't get enough now!), and she loved it ... The only problem was that the recipe as printed doesn't give a great idea as to the scale of the dumplings, and I made them about 12x larger than I should have. Giant manti I made. But my wife said the taste was spot-on, and she loved them. My giant manti are now a running joke between us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I just prepped the manti and it went smoothly. One HINT that i will suggest that worked quite well is that I used my pasta machine to roll out the dough. It was the easiest way to get the dough quite thin. The flavors are so great. I did happen to have some sumac so I topped it off with that as seen in one of the reviews. will make again and even for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1wayin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillside, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Branchville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This recipe is very close to the recipe that my family makes for years just without these sauces. I think 2 eggs is too much, so I use 1 egg and more water instead. The dough comes out great. I used beef and added a little cream to the filling. Then I froze the dumplings for at least an hour. We always do it, I don`t know does it make the difference, but I think it prevents from tearing when you boil the dumplings. The yogurt sauce is great for the dumplings, although we didn`t like the pepper oil (not hot and a little oily). Overall this is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
Neat idea but the meat had no flavor and the dumplings were a pain to make. The sauce needed improvements as well. Celery salt seemed to help the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gallup, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
These are a lot of work, but worth it in the end. Great recipe, thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
when i made them, they werent good at all. its very dry, and my family and i didnt enjoy it. i tried to so many ways to enhance the flavor, but no luck. you should try changing some ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
Excellent! I ended up putting 4tbsp of H20 and 1 tbsp of milk, and 1 tbsp of olive oil in to the dough. Otherwise it would have crumbled. Delicious, I cooked 20 min and they were really al dente. Next time I will boil (on low) for 25 min. Also, very helpful to look at Asli's 4 pictures. I did not realize until later that she does not use 2 squares to make a dumpling--but one (simply pinching the edges up). Definitely a keeper, the whole family enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
The yogurt and oil sauces really make this dish. They are wonderful, and I suspect that I will use them on other meat dishes (meatballs, kebabs, etc.) in the future. The dumplings are also quite good. The first time I made this, I cheated and used pre-made wanton wrappers because I was short on time. They were a bit slimy for my taste, and most of the dumplings fell apart while cooking. It wasn't a total flop, but I won't make them like that again. Second go around, I followed the recipe as written. I had to use quite a bit more water for the dough than stated, but the dumplings were fabulous and I had no problems with them falling apart. This recipe is definitely a lot of work, but it is worth a try if you have a free evening . . . or, better yet, a free evening and afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States