Homemade Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Colleen Wilson
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I'm used to cottage cheese in my lasagna as that's how my mom made it. Some find Ricotta to dry and pasty(like my boyfriend), but I don't mind it. I actually double the cheese by mixing the cottage and ricotta together to get the both of best worlds and mix fresh oregano in it with the other mentioned ingredients(except salt). I also double the sauce as well because the cheese and meat kinda soaks it up. Added some tomato paste and extra sugar into the sauce to take away the tang (taste it before putting it on the lasagna!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haysville, Kansas, USA
Living In: Alpine, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I see that some of the other cooks suggested using carrot rather than sugar. I suggest using some dried sweet basil(leaves)-about 3. You can also use chopped basil. If using basil leaves,remove from sauce after simmering. Oh,and it's much better with ricotta
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is a really good recipe but instead of just using cottage cheese I use cottage cheese and ricotta cheese it blends well and leaves the lasagna with a truly urban taste... i also pre-season my hamburger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
this lasagna is great :) I made it for my husband who's very very picky about his food and he ate it for breakfast lunch and dinner the next day :S. I followed the advice of other reviewers such as doubling the tomato sauce and only using beef. overall this recipe is 5 stars! thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
My son requested lasagna for his b-day meal. I found this recipe. My family loved it. I did add more onion, garlic, basil, and oregano than it called for. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Great "bones" to start off lasagna, but I will use ricotta cheese next time instead of the cottage cheese mixture, other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleh2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Wow, this is one salty lasagna! I'm considered a salt-aholic. So when I saw that the only thing that reviewers really complained about was that this was to salty, I thought this is the lasagna for me. Nothing is ever to salty for me. Well, this was! I had a hard time eating it. But I ate it because I spent a lot of time making it. Besides being salty I don't think that the lasagna really had much other flavor to it. The only good thing that I can say about this recipe is that it held together really well. I made the recipe exactly as it said to without making any changes. I used the cottage cheese just like the recipe called for. I won't be making this again. I will keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I also made a little more sauce and put a layer of sauce in the bottom of the pan. Then I drained the cottage cheese to make it more dry. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Yummy doozers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
My =son-in-law had eaten the authentic dish in Italy. Every couple days he reminds me of how great it was. We can't even ask him what he wants for dinner any more. We know the answer! A little time consuming with the home made marinara sauce, but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna completely from scratch.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States