Homemade Irish Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've been making a very similar Irish Cream recipe for more than 25 years and use it for gifting with instructions on the bottles/mason jars. (Shake well before each use and keep refrigerated) All this doom and gloom about using raw eggs is silly. It's the 21st century people and we now use science over myth! The facts are that good amounts of alcohol have pathogen killing abilities so when you make this recipe keep in mind as long as you store it properly in a refrigerator it will last up to 6 weeks. That's right six weeks. And that's only because the cream will eventually turn rancid NOT the eggs. The Laboratory of Bacterial Pathogenesis and Immunology at Rockefeller University conducted experiments making eggnog using deliberately contaminated eggs with the equivalent amounts of salmonella found in up to 10 bad eggs. The results proved again and again that the longer the eggnog was aged (after 3 weeks) the results were complete sterilization of salmonella. Of course you don't want to use bad eggs to start with but using fresh eggs will be fine and VERY safe. I use 1 1/2 cups of Irish whiskey but brandy is just as good. Another tip I'd like to add is to use real cream (whipping or half/half) and an electric beater on low while slowly adding the alcohol. The cream and the slow add will prevent separation. It also makes the drink nice and thick. Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni DiMaggio

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I have been making this recipe for years and love it. I often give it for gifts in inexpensive containers at Christmas gatherings. As for the eggs, I have switched to using Eggbeaters as they are pasteurized. The taste is the same and I don't worry about anyone getting sick on raw eggs. I also changed up the liquor a little. One year I was using up some open bottles of alcohol I had in the house. Ran out of brandy so I added whiskey to finish off the amount needed. I will never go back to making it with just brandy again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This is good but it tastes a little more like chocolate milk then Irish Cream - a little more brandy helps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Orchard Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Please be very careful when serving anything with raw eggs. You risk illness from Salmonella, among other things. This recipe can be prepared with pasteurized eggs, which come in liquid form in cartons in the refrigerated case at the grocery. This shouldn't alter the taste at all, and there is no risk of illness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Pretty good, but I wish there was something other than sweetened condensed milk that I could use because I think it makes it smell a little like baby formula, and for me that detracts slightly from the taste. Also, while it's a lot cheaper than the original, it's not much cheaper than knock-offs unless you keep most of the ingredients on hand all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Delicious!!! I wanted to try this since Baileys can be expensive and I'm glad I did. I like this much better than store bought because you can make to your taste. Reading other reviews and recipes, I used whiskey instead since that is what I had on hand and it turned out awesome. In fact it was so good I'm not sure I'll try with Brandy. Definately a must try recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Great recipe tasted even better than bailys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I have made this before and loved it. Has any one made it with wine?? I m making my own wine and have had wine based Irish Cream and they were really good. Help anyone have any ideas?? I have made it once and am going to try it again but any imput would be greatl!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
My household served this on Christmas and it was a hit. This is great, tasting sort of like Kahlua. I blended it as called for and strained, but didn't seem to need to. The blending seemed to do the job. Next time I will try the fat free H&H instead of the nondairy creamer and save the fat! Lots of calories, but tastes oh-so-good. Everything else I used as called for (fat free condensed milk tho). Will use again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
We served this at our annual Christmas party and it was a big hit!! I also used the fat free condensed milk and fat free half & half which didn't affect the flavor at all.I will make this again & again for many different occasions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkrafty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Original Irish Cream

See how to make homemade Irish cream liqueur.

Irish Cream Chocolate Cheesecake

Chocolate cheesecake gets a delicious Irish makeover.

Irish Car Bomb

See how to make a stout beer, Irish whiskey, and Bailey’s Irish Cream cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States