Homemade Ice Cream Cones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
YUM! The first cone I made didn't dry hard, so the next one, I made sure the heat was on medium-low and when the cone was slightly brown, I flipped it and pressed on it with my spatula so it browned evenly. It must get brown in order to dry hard. Flip it and press down on it again until it's nice and brown on both sides. Then, either shape it into a cone or put in in a small bowl so it's like a little cup. This was a fun recipe Thanx!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
My whole family enjoyed these cones. Mine turned out crispy. It takes quite a while to get the cones evenly browned. Next time I think I'll try it with a weight or baking them to get even browning faster. They must be shaped quickly so they don't crack in the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ByMarce

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I had similar problems as other reviewers getting these to firm up. I suspect it has to do with the heat, but that's tricky; too low and it stays soft, too high and it burns (ask me how I know). I'm probably going to experiment a little bit to see if I can get a more consistent product. The taste is great, but I'd like to make the texture perfect too. Because I burned the first one, I turned the heat way down. I have an electric range, though, and it can be difficult to get good control. I ended up keeping the heat just a bit below medium to keep mine from burning, but they were still soft. I'll post again if I can get this to be perfect. Worth it, though; very tasty (even if a little greasy). My kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I don't have a waffle griddle so my waffle bowls were not gorgeous, but the recipe did work out good. I used a flat griddle on medium-low heat and allowed them to slowly brown. They were a little tricky to flip the first time and then they were golden brown I draped them over the bottoms of wine and custard glasses. They hardened fairly quickly, within a couple of minutes. I did burn a couple of fingertips in the process of trying to pick them up when turning because I needed to get my spatula underneath. **Tip** To shape them over a bowl or glass, place a paper towl over the hot waffle cone so you can touch it and hold it in place as you shape the cup as you need. Hold for a minute until it cools and remove the paper towel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I made this gluten free by using white rice flour. Yum! Though it only crisped on the edges & it didn't stick together well (expected, with the lack of wheat gluten), it definately delivered the flavor of a good waffle cone. My husband who hasn't had a waffle cone in years due to celiac, loved it! I will experiment with other gluten free flours the next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
My cones never got crispy, or even hard enough for using. They tasted really good though. I think I might use this recipe in a round waffle iron. I think that might work better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wahoo, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These cones are EXCELLENT! I used a Chef's Choice Waffle Cone Express grill to make them. I do believe using a waffle grill of some type makes these cones perfect. (They won't need flipping) The grill came with a cone form to wrap the warm waffle around. This could be made out of aluminum foil. Take the warm waffle, lay it on a towel, then wrap it around a cone form and leave on the form until cool. The ingredients are PERFECT, it's just a matter of mastering the technique! Thank you Mal for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I could not get these to crisp up. After cooking them, I put them in 1 cup custard cups and let them sit. When I took them out, they did not retain their shape very well..kind of flimsy. However... they tasted very good. Eveyone LOVED them and didn't seem to mind the "non" crispy shell. Maybe I will try again and bake them to get them to crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
1st time was a charm, I made this for my wife along with some Homemade Ice Cream, She Loved so much that she wondered when & how did I make put them together, I made mines into bowls instead of cones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebabyal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was such a fun project! My only problem was burning my fingers as I attempted to form the cones while they were still pliable - and hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

How to Make Homemade Pizza Dough

See how to make amazing pizza dough from scratch.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States