Homemade Horseradish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Used this recipe as a basis to a horseradish sauce recipe on this board that I also rated on. Instead of regular vinegar, I used the equivalent of white wine vinegar. Very good. The texture was still a little cruncy but I'm sure if I gave it time to sit overnight it would soften or perhaps I can use another food processor (ohhhh...hunny! LOL). Very good otherwise :0) Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Ducky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Fantastic!!!! My husband & I made this this afternoon and it tastes incredible. Thank you so much, I will never buy horseradish in the store again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa Hills, Ohio, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I have been growing and making Horseradish for around 5 years now. I don't care for adding sugar to my recipe. I think you would like it better without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Outstanding! The hardest part was finding the horseradish root at the grocery store. Do not make too far in advance of the meal, as the horseradish loses power the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is VERY similar to what my Grandmother always made and what her mother made and etc.. I think she only used white vinegar and maybe coarse salt and I'm not clear if sugar was ever added. Grandma would make a large batch once every year by using the fresh horseradish root from her garden. Of course she grated the rock hard root finely by hand! Growing up, this was ALWAYS on the table with dinner, along with the other standard items like sweet and dill pickles. Pickled beets, watermelon pickles, you name it! It was on the table. Some people don't understand the potency of this homemade and pure horseradish and lay it on too thick. Most people prefer this over the creamy style once they've tried it and learn how much suits them. You don't have to like "spicy" or "hot" to enjoy horseradish. Personally, I've NEVER enjoyed the creamy and diluted versions of horseradish sauces. I've always been familiar with this since I was a child. It's so nice and refreshing to use in many of my recipes... rubs for a roasts, adding a hint to different appetizers and dips, and always including it in hearty sandwiches. I'm so pleased someone included this GREAT and SIMPLE recipe. Simplicity is often the best. *** As for how long this safely lasts in the fridge, I believe if the horseradish stayed covered by the vinegar and tightly covered in the refrigerator... and since it's considered "pickling" it should last indefinately. This is a huge gray area and you should be caref
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This is great horseradish. Loses the flavor if it sits for too long. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Just made some. It is HOT!! We used a meat grinder. The first one was a course grind then went to a fine grinder. We saved the juice from grinding and included it with the liquid measure. We also used kosher salt instead of iodized salt. Turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
Wow! What a bite! Add some beet juice to give it that reddish color and bring out more heat. Just the way my uncle used to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Very easy! Despite the fact that we used a blender instead of a food processor (long story...) Anyway, used store-bought all my life but fresh is just sooo much better. Definitely recommend a food processor! But a blender will work in a pinch (took about 7 minutes for one batch). Does anyone know how long this will keep in the refrigerator? Planning on growing my own from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Simple and great. I had a huge horseradish root, so I quadrupled the recipe, expecting to give most of it away, but we ate it all up in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States