Homemade Herb Salt Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Yummy and I am such a fan of rosemary. I used Kosher salt, my preferred salt. Next time will not grind the salt. Dry out the rosemary first then grind just add to unground Kosher salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Angela Sackett
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
sweet and simple and great for gift-giving! we added all kinds of extra "goodies" the second time we made this - sesame seeds,finely ground nuts, garlic granules... but the original recipe is lovely and a great all-round seasoning - especially with the fresh herbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
What a fantastic recipe! I made it with the herbs listed in the recipe but I'll be using others that Chef John mentioned in the footnote. I use it on everything - absolutely love it! Thanks Chef John - another winner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Love this idea, other herb combinations would also work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JudyG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I didn't try this recipe, but I wanted to say I see my grandma doing this since ever. I asked her to teach me how to make it about five years ago, and have been making my homemade herb salt since then. We always add onion and garlic. I love the flavor. Also, the onion helps blend the herbs together, since I use a regular blender. My grandma adds marjoram to hers, but I can never find fresh marjoram when I need it. Since I love basil, I use it instead. I never tried to season cooked food at the table with this and I don't see it working (maybe it is because I add onion and garlic?), but I use my herb salt to season pretty much anything I am cooking. Try it on your rice. You won't believe how much better they will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Wonderful! My whole house smells amazing! So easy to make. I doubled the recipe and filled 7 "Ball" 8oz crystal jelly jars with a little left over for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Seidenspinner Durjan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Made as described this is delicious. Yes, the colour does fade over time bit the flavour is great. Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Great Idea!!! I made it and i loved it and I will always have a healthy stock of these on hand. I discovered you Chef John on allrecipes, I love the videos and Thank you for sharing, I've just about added all of your recipes to my recipes box :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Herb Salt

A simple, savory finishing salt that’s also an inexpensive gift idea.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States