Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by s©tt
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Gotta love Chef John's buns! These turned out really well - light, lovely taste and texture. Also delicious when made with whole wheat flour. The only change I made to the recipe was to cut the sugar down to 1 tblsp, because 3 tblsp makes it way too sweet for my (European) taste, and it adds unnecessary calories. I whisked the egg, then tossed all the ingredients into my bread-making machine on the dough-making setting, thereby skipping steps 2 through 6, resuming at step 7. I also use this recipe for hot dog buns, and the results are excellent. For hot dog buns, in step 7, flatten each of the 8 pieces into 15x15cm (6x6-inch) rectangles, very tightly roll each one, pinch the ends and along the remaining edge, then lay out on the baking sheet with the remaining edge down. In step 10, brush lightly with the egg-wash, but skip the sesame seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by s©tt

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe is so easy and produces a great bun. Chef John comes through again. Like others have said, the buns at 8 servings are too large. I tried 10 and still felt the buns were a tad large, so today, I'm going to 12 buns. Size is a personal preference so 8 might be fine for you. Try this recipe. You will not be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Turned out great. Made 8 4" buns. Light, airy, great for the pulled pork I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
I used half whole wheat flour and half all purpose for a whole wheat bun, and it turned out working great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thief River Falls, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Great recipe! Although it takes some time for the preparation the final result is worthy! Thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyof2
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I have made these twice in the past 24 hours because everyone loves them! I followed the instructions exactly and the buns turned out fabulous! Thank you, Chef John, for posting this recipe! The video helped, also. This was my first time ever making buns and I was certain I was going to somehow screw it up, but I was so happy when they came out so beautiful and delicious. :) I highly recommend this recipe! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
These buns are so easy to make! What an easy way for beginners with yeast to start! I followed the recipe except to add one tablespoon of the sugar to the yeast/flour/water mix in the very beginning. I weighed the dough of each of the buns at 3.5 ounces, and they handled a quarter pound hamburger perfectly. I think we would perhaps like them just a tad smaller, so next time I'll do what another suggested and make 10 buns from the recipe. They were perfect. I like to slightly undercook my rolls like this (see my photo) so that when I toast them with butter they don't get too dry. We had delicious hamburgers tonight with organic hamburger meat from Costco! Yum! Another winner, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and I was so surprised with the income. A 4 year old complemented it!!! Thank you for the great recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
These turned out great! I used a Cuisinart with a dough blade. Super easy! Everyone thought the buns were light, fluffy and extremely tasty! The recipe made 8 burger buns. Has anyone had any luck freezing these and maintaining their great texture and taste?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dlish
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I've made buns with another recipe from here but my family loved this one so much. I used them for French dips and they held up wonderfully. Worked great in high altitude as well. Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dlish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States