Homemade Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I made this recipe last night. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beloved Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I signed up just so I could post a comment about Chef John's hamburger buns. I just took these out of the oven and the smell in my house right now is incredible. I've been searching for a staple bun recipe for quite a few years and now I've finally found it. Just remember you don't need a stand mixer to do these, the recipe is completely do-able without one. I added just enough flour so it wasn't sticking to my hands while I was kneading (The dough was just as soft and easy to work with)I did drop the sugar down to about a tablespoon and a half and didn't find it sweet. I'm going to try this recipe with all the sugar for cinnamon buns. I'm so happy I finally found my staple bun recipe! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
I made these buns in a bread machine, and they came out perfect. I proofed the yeast as directed, and added the egg etc to the proof, put it in the machine and added 3 cups of flour on top. Separated them and cooked them in the oven. They came out perfect. I've never made buns this way, but I'm sold on the process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clint

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
Ok so I reckon they have a great taste. One wee problem though... The cling film sticks and they deflate when removed. Ended up with flat bread.. hmmm maybe don't use cling film?? One part that was exposed was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Very good results with these. Very tasty and the finished product looks professional. I found that a pound of flour was a bit light. 510 grams was the sweet spot when the dough stopped sticking to the mixer bowl for me. Four hours is a long time but if you're in a hurry try Red Star Platinum yeast. With its dough conditioners you don't need a first rise Just let the dough rest for 15 minutes, cut and shape. They'll rise to baking size in about an hour for a total prep time of under 2 hours. At 8 buns I call these kaisers. 12 makes a burger bun in this house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lloyd Gee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marko
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
In one word PERFECTION. Small tip as soon as you take the buns out off the oven cover them with a towel for 15 minutes and it will make them more fluffy . Thanks for this great recipe and video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Perfect! Texture, taste, appearance. I will never buy buns again. Little, big they are perfect every time. I even forgot to flour the tops before the second rise and they were still, Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley Nicole
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I made these following the recipe ALMOST word for word. I used bread flour instead of all purpose (things always seem less dense when I use bread flour in yeast bread recipes) and changed the order I added the ingredients. In a stand mixer I added the sugar, warm water, and yeast. After it's foamy I add about 2 cups of the bread flour, the egg, butter, salt, and oil. I use a bread hook and slowly add more flour until the dough pulls away from the sides. After letting the mixer knead the dough for 6 minutes I let it rise and formed little dough balls. I did NOT flatten them, as I like less flat buns. Other than the bread flour substitute, the order I added the ingredients, and not flattening the dough balls, I did everything word for word. I would dock a point for the dough ball formation technique being confusing, but it's a difficult technique to explain through text. I would search youtube for "how to shape a bread boule" as that would be an easier to understand presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Oxford, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anca-Madalina Dinu
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
We loved it. Success from the first try. I loved the Chef's personal comments, funny and at the same time very helpful for the inexperienced cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anca-Madalina Dinu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
I really liked this recipe.Made it exact the first time and the second time just made the buns smaller.I also used it to make hot dog buns. What a treat from store bought. These freeze great as well.Next time I am going to add some jalapeno and onion to switch it up fpr a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Neepawa, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States