Homemade Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I combine soft butter, cinnamon, molasses, honey, and maple syrup with some almond extract, maple extract, and vanilla. Mix it then pour it over flour dusted oats, dried cranberries & raisins & chopped almonds. Stir it while pouring the mixture. Then I use my hands and work the mixture into the oats then I add just a little brown sugar to taste. I bake mine with a very watchful eye at 400 degrees. I test it for crunchiness. I always make this recipe at the end of the month when I am out of box cereal and I want some cereal. I always have theses Items in my pantry so it is nice to have when your out of box cereal. I forgot to add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
This was great recipe! I enjoyed making for me and my husband.We added some fresh fruit and had a delicious breakfast on our day off. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This is a very good and tasty recipe as is, but I added dried cranberries and walnuts. It is a great recipe to add any nut or cereal oat you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Bailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is the first granola recipe that hasn't either burnt, stuck to my pan or been sickly sweet. Would make again! would add some sesame seeds, pumpkin seeds, or other small nuts to add to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaklin Lindberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I love this recipe. I usually add it to my yogurt but have also eaten it as is. It's great! I found that 35-40 minutes is just right. I felt that it was overcooked when I went any longer. It is great with dried cherries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I changed it around a little, but loved the recipe!! I used 1/2 brown sugar-1/2 pure maple syrup (cooked covered in the microwave for 3 mins., prior to adding to the oat mixture). I added 1/2 teaspoon of maple flavoring to the 1/2 cup of water. I used whole pecans, hazelnuts, sliced almonds, and whole flaxseeds (just my preference). I too, thought a teaspoon of salt enhanced the flavor. To cook it, I separated the mixture onto 2 cookie sheets, lined in foil and sprayed with cooking spray. I placed both pans into the preheated **375 degree** oven for 12 mins. stirring after 6 mins. I then lowered the heat to 300 degrees, stirred it once more, and returned it to a 300 degree oven for an additional 6 mins. I then turned the oven off completely, do not open the oven door to check or stir it again. The trick is to leave it in the oven until the oven with the granola inside, has cooled down completely.. This cuts the baking time to 18 mins., and makes it all very crunchy, but not overdone! When it comes out of the oven, completely cooled, I added white raisins, and craisins. So very yummy. One last note...after removing the cooled granola from the oven (BEFORE adding the craisins/raisins) reserve 1-2 cups and add chocolate, or carob chips, to to the reserved granola, it's perfect on top ice cream or frozen yogurt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
I left out the wheat germ and raisins and added almonds and walnuts before toasting. Also used instant oats instead of old fashioned since that is what I had. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! I have passed this on to Friends and Family! Everyone Loves it! I have a double batch in the oven as I type this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Mt 8 yr old granddaughter & I made this recipe, only making a few substitutions, & it was AMAZING! I have tried a lot of granola recipes, &had just not found that right one, well this is it! The entire family loves it. We substituted coconut oil for the vegetable oil, dried blueberries for the raisins, & then 1/2 brown sugar & 1/2 Stevia. I'm sure any dried fruit will do, and if you like it on the sweeter side, stick with all brown sugar, but I definitely recommend the coconut oil! It is so much heathy, & has a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Good granola recipe. I didn't have wheat germ, but other than that I used the recipe exactly as written. I only baked for 45 minutes as the coconut was starting to look and smelling burnt, so I suggest watching it carefully during the last half hour. Great tasting! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States