Homemade Graham Crackers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I am making a cheesecake recipe from a magazine and the crust is with amaretti cookies and graham crackers (I bought graham flour especially for making the graham crust but I see no one using it). Has anyone tried making graham crackers with the flour mentioned above? Can anyone suggest whether the whole wheat may be substituted for the graham flour? I will post my results (even if no one has had enough time until Easter to answer my question) when I will make the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a good recipe but I added part whole wheat flour and wheat germ for texture and they were delicious. I had to cook them on parchment because they were crumbly, but it was worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
these are not graham crackers, they are biscuits. graham crackers use graham flour.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These work great with the 'Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball' recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverChristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I can't rate this actually 'cause I haven't tried them yet (I don't know how to give a tip on here), but I do know that you can buy graham flour in the store or online. The brand is Hodgson Mill in a brown bag. This might be the difference in it tasting like graham crackers you get in the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sardinia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
nice recipe for what is tea bisquit, but graham crackers are made with the portion of the wheat that is called graham..hence its name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I give it two stars because they taste good, but I want to give it one star since the recipe is not what I woudl expect from a graham cracker recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
These were good, but not quite as good as store bought. A little hard to cut in to shapes because the batter was so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cloudiestdragon
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
These were really good, but I changed it up a bit. Instead of the water, I used milk. I also added a little extra cinnamon, half a teaspoon of salt, and a teaspoon of honey. The batter was quite sticky, but don't let this discourage you! Just keep flouring the surface and the rolling pin. I did have a problem with the crackers only getting brown at the corners when they were in the oven, so I took those out and put the rest back in. It may just be my oven. Also, I recommend you poke holes in them with a fork before you cook them so they don't get any bubbles. I also topped them with cinnamon sugar... I made a mix in a bowl and used 3 tablespoons sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. They turned out not too sweet and not too bland, in other words "lagom" for all you Swedes. At least that is how I felt. Be sure you don't leave them in the oven too long. If they start turning a darkish brown (before a dark dark brown) then they will taste a bit burnt. You want them to get golden! I'm thinking about trying them with cocoa powder next time. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloudiestdragon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
I was looking for a cracker recipe that was chewy enough for my 1 year old. These are perfect. I will probably play around with flavor a bit the next time I make them, but they are still good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thin Mint Crackers

These delicious chocolate-covered crackers are so easy to make.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States