Homemade Ginger Ale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This is quite delicious. I had to try it twice, as I did not let it ferment long enough the first time. I put it in the fridge immediately after the bottle started to feel hard rather than waiting a full 24 hours. I strongly encourage you to make sure you do wait the full amount of time, as it will give you the good fizz. I did not have any yeasty taste in mine, as other cooks have commented upon. I did use 1/4tsp of bakers yeast rather than a package of Fleschmans. I also used considerably more ginger. This is extremely sweet. I am going to experiment and see if the fermentation process happens properly with a bit less sugar. But it's the real thing and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noël Lynne Figart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I just let mine set for 18 hours and it was delicious! However I gave only four stars because it was not quite right the first time, it tasted a little yeasty, so like a few other people i cut the yeast in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okc foodadict

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I didn't realize that we could make ginger ale but I'm glad we tried this recipe! It's very good and I've been asked several times to make this again - it's a lot of fun and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This tasted really yeasty to me, but I would like to try it again to see if I can make a tastier batch. I used about 2" worth of ginger and will double it next time. I probably didn't leave it out quite long enough, but it sounds like I would want to let some air out in that case. I used an empty half-gallon milk jug, and that seemed to work well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nereidia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I thought this was delicious! I might use less sugar next time around, and maybe more ginger, but this recipe makes a very refreshing and tasty drink! My husband, my in-laws, and I all were really surprised by how good it turned out to be. Having read other reviews mentioning explosions, I did open the bottle veeeeeery slowly when it came time to pour it out and strain it, and I had absolutely no problem with explosions. I also didn't have any problems with the bottle blowing up while it fermented. Great, easy recipe with a delicious result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Easy to make, but didn't like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Surprisingly good! I'm not sure if it is any cheaper than buying soda but would make a fun project to do with children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Excellent taste and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
2 comments - try this recipe with the juice of one lime rather than line lemon....it is a more interesting flavor combination, as it is not as sharply acidic as the lemon. You can easily cut back on the sugar and still get the necessary carbonation.... Wish I had access to the champagne yeast, I'm sure the flavors would be even better but it isn't too "bready" with the regular yeast as far as I'm concrned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
The main by-product of yeast and sugar is not alcohol, it's CO2 and lots of it! The idea of Champagne yeast is prolly the best way to go to achieve a closer taste to Ginger Ale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Onatopa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Ginger Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender shake up a spiced rum cocktail.

Ginger Kiss Cocktail

This spicy gin-based cocktail stars fresh ginger root and hot chile pepper!

Pickled Ginger Asian Pear Coleslaw

See how to make a great fall and winter coleslaw.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States