Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Really, really fabulous - and so easy! I used light-tasting olive oil (avoid Extra Virgin Olive Oil for mayo as it's too strong tasting and often results in bitter mayo). I just bought avocado oil so may try that next time. This was SO good, I immediately had my husband taste it and he thought it would be awesome as a dipping sauce (ie, for fondue). It has an aioli feel (from the garlic). The only thing to know is that the basil turns brown by the next day. Still 100% fine, but not as brilliant-looking if serving to company. Given how easy this is with an immersion blender, I'd rather do fresh, smaller batches the day of if you're concerned about presentation. It doesn't affect the taste though. SO yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I just made this for the first time. I had been using a "whole egg" recipe because I hate waste, but it never turned out right. It was always bland and runny. This is perfect. The consistency is excellent. I'll never go back to the runny slop again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bloodshot

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Followed this recipe to a T and it didn't turn out for me twice . Don't know what I'm doing wrong .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
This is such an easy recipe for mayo... Thanks very much Chef John....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This looks fabulous but I add a bit of a blend for my oil when making mayo. The kids and hubby say it tastes closest to store bought mayo (if that's what you're used to). I use a cup of avocado oil (it's got a very neutral flavor), a quarter cup of sesame oil and a quarter cup of light olive oil. Also if you have a Vitamix, this is super simple to make and I always use the whole egg which doesn't leave any to waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kearns, Utah, USA
Living In: Hoquiam, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Excellent flavor. I dont have a stick blender so did with an electric beater.(Just have to be patient). Also found that I needed to add more Dijon..for my tastes. I used the mayo on the Red Skinned Potato Salad found on AR. Awesome combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dingo007

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ridgway, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Wow.. easy and delicious. The add-in possibilities are endless
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Jo Rivet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
First off, I LOVE this method with using a stick blender. I've made it in my regular Oster blender before but this made for much less waste and much easier clean-up. My Pyrex 2-cup measurer worked great to make this in. I did omit the basil (didn't have any) and I also used "Extra Light Tasting" olive oil, because I know olive oil is a better oil for you. Loved the taste. One of these days I hope to try it with the basil too though. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Amazing!! I've tried making mayo before and never found it worth the effort and frequently it was too runny and separated. Since I already have an immersion blender and my basil plant is at peak, I thought I'd try this recipe. WOW! Simple and no drizzling oil or separation. The mayo never got all the way to a salad or sandwich plate either! Tried the suggestion to spread on baguette slices and before you know it, I needed another batch. Will definitely try this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States