Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2006
This has become a favorite around here. Though, I must agree with others in that it isn't enough to sufficiently fill 2 pie crusts. I have successfully added another 1/2 - 3/4 cup of pumpkin (without adjusting any other ingredients) to help it stretch. Very delish, regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2001
This is a great recipe is you are looking for a true taste of pumpkin. I was happy to find a recipe for cooking fresh pumpkin other than baking. But don't expect this to taste like pumpkin pie from the can....it is not as sweet or spicy. If you are looking for a spicer taste, I would recommend increasing each of the spices by 1/2 tsp. This was a very fun recipe to make, and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
The most excellent pumpkin pie. I added a pinch of allspice and a pinch of cloves to add a touch more spice to the pie. Also, the pumpkin I used was very watery, so I added a teaspoon of cornstarch to the final mixture before baking. It baked uniformly, didn't burn the crust, or the pie: it turned out great! The people I served it to said they would try to get my own cooking show!' Very that happy Mr. Scott shared it with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
233 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2004
This was a delicious recipe. I have never used brown sugar. It was great! I have always cooked fresh pumpkin right after Halloween by cutting in half, scoop out seeds and strings, and bake in oven on 400 until soft, then scoop pumpkin out and put in blender and blend until soft, then I store in 4 cup portions in freezer bags until Thanksgiving time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2001
This is a great recipe - preparing fresh pumpkin is also very easy in the microwave then pureed in blender/food processor. It is excellent and once you have tried fresh pumpkin you will not buy another can and will freeze your own. Long-necked pumpkin yield more flesh, and green/white striped squash are very sweet and mild. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
I was worried that it may be stringy since pumpkin was only hand-mashed and not food-processor puree'd, but it came out with a great texture and gentle seasoning that let the pumpkin flavor through. One pumpkin made 2 3/4 cups of mash for me. After mashing, drained but didn't go crazy (squeezing through cheesecloth, etc) and it came out great with a non-soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
a wonderful recipe for anyone who hasn't tackled a fresh pumpkin pie...Just delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Fantastic recipe! My preference in cooking the pumpkin is to roast the small (2"x2") chunks in a roast pan at 350 for about an hour, then the pumpkin doesnt take on extra water. I have substituted the condensed milk with whipping cream - divine. And as a non-dairy alternative for my dairy-allergic husband, I used coconut milk which worked beautifully as well! This recipe adapts well and is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thornhill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
This recipe turned out great. I took the pie to work and everyone raved about how good it was. They couldn't believe how smooth it was. Not bad for my first time baking a pie of any kind! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
My eleven year old son made this today. He added cloves to the spice mix. One trick we learned is to cook the pumpkin whole. Make slits in it and bake it in the oven for about 45 minutes at 350 degrees. It is so much easier to cut and then scoop out the seeds and flesh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindi Barth Maline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States