Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have made this pie for the last few years' holidays. Oddly enough, I don't care for pumpkin so I have never actually tried my pies, but my family really likes it. I strongly recommend using a blender or food processor to mash the pumpkin. A hand blender doesn't cut up all the chunks well. For a Lactose free version, I like using almond milk, but any kind of lactose free milk good for cooking will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My first pumpkin pie to date, and it was WONDERFUL! What great flavor. It almost tasted like a gingersnap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crburros

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA
Living In: Port Jefferson Station, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
YUM! I had been warned that fresh pumpkin has a lot more water in it and can be mushy so I followed a friend's method of preparing: I baked my pumpkin whole (with holes poked in) until soft, put it in the blender and then let it sit in a strainer to get the extra water out for several hours. For the recipe I added an extra egg. It turned out PERFECT and SOOOO Yummy!!! My son this could use a bit more cinnamon but I thought the spices were just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Star Dust Mining Company

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Canton, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
This was an awesome recipe!!!! I will make this again, for sure!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gloria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this as my first ever pie. As far as the filling goes, I had to mix 50/50 fresh & canned b/c my pumpkin was small, and I think I would prefer this to fully fresh pumpkin. It's hard to get the real pumpkin smooth. It also seemed a little too mushy and creamy, so I think in the future I'd cut the evaporated milk a tad and replace with more pumpkin, maybe ~1/4 cup tradeoff. In case anyone else has never made pie crust before: Listen to directions here. Cut the shortening in by hand, add the water slowly, don't overwork. I made a rookie mistake of using my stand mixer and overworking the dough resulted in a dense rather than light and flaky piecrust. Oops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this pumpkin pie this year for Thanksgiving, it was such a success that it will be made for Thanksgiving here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
I have never liked pumpkin pies until I tasted one that my best friend made. Since then if it's not homemade from real pumpkins I just don't like it. I tried this recipe and I must say it was easy. i called her up and told her how i cooked the pumpkins and now she's even doing it. Thanks.Awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This pie came out amazing! I am currently living in German and there was no chance in making a "quick" pumpkin pie with canned pumpkin. Also a note to anyone else in Germany, I used Kondensmilche with 7.5% Fett to substitute the evaporated milk. I also doubled the cinnamon and nutmeg after reading reviews and it came out sweet and perfect. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie is the best, I made it the night before Thanksgiving with pie crust dough I had frozen from this recipe. Thawed out the dough followed the recipe and cut my prep time in half. I will never again used canned Pumpkin, this way is much more Delicious. Put some LOVE into your pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This will be the third year my kids and I have used this recipe. It always a hit especially since the one uncarved pumpkin from Halloween is the main ingredient. It's easy to follow and is quick. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bennettkidschef

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States