Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Love this yummy, easy recipe! I followed some reviewers' advice and added 3/4 cup more pumpkin and extra spices (a little Allspice, doubled the cinnamon). The result was two very full, very yummy pumpkin pies. Thank you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The filling for this recipe is excellent - smooth and sweet with a spicy warmth. I really want to give it four and a half stars. The only reason I would withhold a half-star is that the crust given here was quite flavourless. My mother happily ate the filling and left the crust on her plate. In future I would make this with my usual shortcrust pastry (made with butter), or perhaps a graham cracker crumb crust. And yes, it's true that this recipe makes only enough filling for one deep pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever tasted. Simple and subtle. You will never need another pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane Cullum
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I used a different recipe from this site to make the pumpkin puree, then used this one to make the pies. This crust is very easy and makes plenty of dough for two crusts. The filling is delicious; everyone loved it. My only complaint is that even using my shallowest pie plates, they were not quite full (as you can see in the photos). They also turned out speckled from the spices. I've never had that happen before! If I make it again, I'll try adding more pumpkin. Update, I used a ready made crust and my deep dish this time and the filling amount is perfect for this size! You get only one pie though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Changed 3/4 Cup brown sugar to 1 Cup of white sugar. A heaping tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tap ginger, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cloves and 1/8 tsp of allspice, and about 2 Tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I can't speak for the crust, as I used store bought, but the filling was amazing! Like others I added an extra half cup or so of pumpkin purée which filled them just perfectly. No need to adjust other ingredients. I was out of ginger and substituted all spice instead which didn't seem to create any differences. So happy my first attempt at cooking a real pumpkin pie was positive! When my husband and young son love it, it's a keeper! I loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Favorite in my house including the neighbor's kid! Haven't tried making a home-made crust yet but will do soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Larck Garcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
A family member told me that I needed to boil the pumpkin, then mash it (I should have used the internet!). Needless to say, when I mixed all of the ingredients, the mix was SUPER liquidy (like thin soup) with thick pumpkin goop on the bottom of the bowl. I wanted to get all of that thick pumpkin mixed in well (I thought it would make everything thicker) so I put it in my blender and hit "puree". It was still very thin, although well mixed, and I was so worried that my pies didn't have a chance... For the second pie, I just put everything in the blender and hit "puree". I used store bought refrigerated pie crust (I was feeling lazy, and originally planned on making 6 pies), and I made no alterations to the recipe. I used 10-inch pie plates, and the filling almost overflowed out of the crusts! I believe I left my pies in for 45-50 minutes (I had 2 in the oven), and they turned out wonderfully! Nice, solid, not soupy at all, and delicious!! Thanks for a great recipe that saved me from a big disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
I certainly loved this recipe! The reason why I didn't give it a five star rating was I couldn't believe that the amount of filling could fit two 8" OR 9" pie pans. The amount of crust though was way to much for a single pie so I baked mine in a 9 X 13 inch pan using the same amount of ingredients then cut them into rectangles. I find these smaller servings just right for a big meal with multiple other desserts to choose from. I added a bit more spices than called for in the recipe as suggested by numerous readers. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
The only thing I changed was the nutmeg I only used 1/4 of a tsp. We loved every piece of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States