Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This was exactly the recipe I was expecting for a homeade pumpkin pie. Although the recipe does not say you will have to make two crusts. As the filling makes enough for two. I still enjoyed it and so did my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kilby

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
This pie was a real hit! It has a lovely pumpkin taste, not overly spiced. The texture is not super creamy like a canned pumpkin produces, but you definitely get a satisfying true pumpkin experience with this. I'll make it again, definitely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Loved this pie. My son really wanted to try homemade, so I rolled up my sleeves and made this recipe. It was better than I imagined it could be. I am not a huge pumpkin pie fan, but this was perfect. I loved that it wasn't overly spicy. I did add a little bit of cornstarch at the very end to help the batter thicken, but that is the only thing I changed. Will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
Delicious. I actually had to bake and then steam the pumpkin so it was soft enough to put into my blender for puree. Also I really like the evaporated milk. As I made two pies, I mixed this evaporated milk fresh pumpkin pie recipe with only 1/2 cup of brown sugar (not 3/4) with a 2nd pie recipe which called for condensed milk instead of evaporated milk (no sugar; rest of recipe the same). I also prebaked my pie crusts for 5 mins to avoid sogginess. All of guests raved about the freshness of the pie, and how is tasted light. With only a touch of whipping cream, it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
So yummy!! Loved making this, and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Love this pie!! The crust is a little thin but the taste is amazing overall! I also added 1/2 teasooon of pumpkin pie spice which wasn't on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Ristic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
After my dog decided to take a bite out of my jack-o-lantern, I decided to make pie out of it (after discarding the dog bite part). The pumpkin was pretty watery so I let it drain well and was still able to get enough pumpkin to make 4 pies. To compensate for the wetness, I added 1 tsp of cornstarch to the recipe. otherwise, no changes were made. This recipe is perfect. The seasoning is light, as is the texture of the pie. I have a home made sweet potato pie that I have used for years and it's much denser than this. This almost reminds me of a light custard pie. This recipe is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misslittlelady
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This was the first pie I ever made and it turned out PERFECT! Pie Crust: I'm die hard for vegan butter, so I did replace the shortening in the pie crust with that instead, but my pie crust still came out great. Pumpkin: I baked my pumpkin instead of boiling it, which I don't think has any affect on how the pumpkin turns out - boiling may cause it to be a lot more watery, but if you follow suggestions to use a cheesecloth afterwards, you should be fine. Filling: I followed this part pretty closely, and only added a few extra drops of clove extract into the mix. With these few minor adjustments, my pie came out perfect! It looks like a pumpkin pie you'd buy from the store, but tastes a million times better. I'll never buy another pumpkin pie again. This recipe was so easy. It took me less than 2 hours to prep and bake it, and it was ready to eat by the next morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misslittlelady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is a great recipe and does not even come close to canned pumpkin. I do agree that two cups of pumpkin is not enough. I use two medium pumpkins and organic ingredients. I only have a cup left over and with this I make a small pie. Top it off with whip cream and you have a delicious pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Kay Pickles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
It was my first time making this. I loved this recipe because it was super simple. The pie came out amazing! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Cren

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 318) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States