Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Jennifer Osterday
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I tried this with using canned pumpkin, and it turned out great! I also made Mini pies, instead of two huge ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Perham, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I have never used fresh pumpkin to make a pie before so I did a trial run this week-end using this recipe. I made it exactly as written except I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of Allspice. This was absolutely delicious. I will never use canned pumpkin again. I will be using this recipe for the pie I make for Thanksgiving. I wish now I had bought more pumpkins. I am going to be growing my own next year. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
This recipe is great, when making a homemade fresh pumpkin pie the baker has to realize it won't have all the refined sugars and fake pumpkin extract tastes that the can gives. It is a different texture but it is absolutely delicious. I added twice the amount of brown sugar and vanilla and I cut the recipe in half for the mixture, and it turned out delicious. I suggest cooking it overnight before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cuppycake
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
My husband LOVES his pumpkin pie and this with cinnamon added (his favorite spice!) is his favorite recipe for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuppycake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Dunwoody, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Love this yummy, easy recipe! I followed some reviewers' advice and added 3/4 cup more pumpkin and extra spices (a little Allspice, doubled the cinnamon). The result was two very full, very yummy pumpkin pies. Thank you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
The filling for this recipe is excellent - smooth and sweet with a spicy warmth. I really want to give it four and a half stars. The only reason I would withhold a half-star is that the crust given here was quite flavourless. My mother happily ate the filling and left the crust on her plate. In future I would make this with my usual shortcrust pastry (made with butter), or perhaps a graham cracker crumb crust. And yes, it's true that this recipe makes only enough filling for one deep pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is the best pumpkin pie I have ever tasted. Simple and subtle. You will never need another pumpkin pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diane
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
I used a different recipe from this site to make the pumpkin puree, then used this one to make the pies. This crust is very easy and makes plenty of dough for two crusts. The filling is delicious; everyone loved it. My only complaint is that even using my shallowest pie plates, they were not quite full (as you can see in the photos). They also turned out speckled from the spices. I've never had that happen before! If I make it again, I'll try adding more pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Changed 3/4 Cup brown sugar to 1 Cup of white sugar. A heaping tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tap ginger, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cloves and 1/8 tsp of allspice, and about 2 Tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I can't speak for the crust, as I used store bought, but the filling was amazing! Like others I added an extra half cup or so of pumpkin purée which filled them just perfectly. No need to adjust other ingredients. I was out of ginger and substituted all spice instead which didn't seem to create any differences. So happy my first attempt at cooking a real pumpkin pie was positive! When my husband and young son love it, it's a keeper! I loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Fresh Pumpkin Pie

See how to make homemade pumpkin pie using fresh pumpkins.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States